Ru

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Japan

  • ...

    Travel dates

    12/01/2019 - 20/03/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello! こんにちは!日本語下

    I'm Ru, originally from South East England, currently in Japan on a working holiday visa. I'm hoping to travel extensively across Japan, staying with a variety of hosts and experiencing the beautiful changing seasons but am especially interested in permaculture projects and traditional crafts.
    私はレノラ ルです。はじめまして。 イギリス人です。三月から日本で旅行します。

    I love spending time out in nature and observing the world around me, watching how everything changes day by day. I’m an artist and will probably bring at least some art materials with me- I paint, draw, sew, and do lots of other crafts beside. Making is what I spend most of my life doing, and while I’m out in Japan I would love to visit some traditional craftsmen. It’s been a while now, but I did my degree in ceramics, so any place with a pottery connection would be fantastic!
    自然が大好です。四季を見るのは面白い。私は芸術家。絵を描きます。昔大学で粘土彫刻を勉強しました。

    I’m independent and happy to work alone, but have been solo studying Japanese and would like to improve my language skills too. Outdoors I’m at my happiest working with plants, whether it’s sowing trays of seeds, planting out, harvesting produce, or pruning; but I also enjoy working with animals (except pigs. I don’t really like pigs!). I have experience of caring for horses, but little to no riding experience (would like to learn to ride if that’s an option). I love to cook and can cook for lots of people, as well as baking cakes, and making preserves (jam and sauerkraut)
    日本語を練習したい。あまり話しません。私は植物を育てるのが得意です。料理をするのが好きです。 動物が好です。でも、豚がきらいですよ!馬の世話をしました。

    Basic accommodation does not bother me. I have lived in eco houses, benders and caravans, and used compost toilets for 3 years. I will have a Japanese phone sim with data package for internet so I can keep in touch with my family and continue my online studying.

    As a person I'm big on personal growth and want to continue on my path. I make a conscious effort to be kind and conscientious, listen, and observe before immediately acting or suggesting changes within a place. When I work I try to work as thoroughly as possible and following the path of sustainability- doing things in a way that means they wont have to be re-done after a short period of time, but instead will last. I've been told that I'm quite funny and I like to make people laugh, but I also find I do need periods of alone time to recharge and be myself. This trip to Japan comes after a year of big change for me and is a once in a lifetime opportunity, so I hope to make the most of it while offering myself to the world!
    Thank you!
    ありがとうございます!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project

  • What skills do you have?

    Organic gardening: propagation, planting out, weeding, creating beds, digging over beds, generally growing food, knowledge of No Dig methods, compost heap creation

    Wood management: can use and maintain chainsaw, stack wood to dry, split wood with axe, prune trees, lay hedges, create hazel hurdles (woven fencing)

    Cooking: cooking on open fire or basic kitchen, cooking in domestic kitchen, cooking for people with dietary requirements (especially gluten free and vegan), using fresh produce from garden, cooking for as many as 40 people on my own. Baking and decorating cakes. Making sauerkraut and kimchee, making jam, making homebrew wine.

    Animal care: general care of chickens, goats and sheep; mucking out animals and stables, fetching water, horse care including basic grooming and moving horses from field to stable

    Sewing: can fix bedding, make cushions and curtains, take on pretty much any home sewing job. Screenprinting.

    Art: If there's anything arty that needs creating, I am happy to take it on

    Building: Basic woodwork- sanding, small repairs, painting. I built a timber framed house with a partner 2 years ago, which we clad in carpet tiles, and did a lot of hand sawing wood for that, but in no way am I on the level of Japanese carpenters. I sometimes have issues with my wrists when using power tools but will try my best. I have laid floorboards, made windowsills, put together studwork and beams, but I'm not massively confident with it.

  • Languages spoken

    English (native, fluent), Japanese (beginner level)

  • Age

    29

  • What else ...

    I have a full working holiday visa and would occasionally like to work for money if possible.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      I cannot eat wheat- no pasta, ramen, bread, pizza. Soy sauce is okay. 小麦アレルギーです。パスタ、パン、ピザ、ラーメンは食べれません。ただし、醤油は大丈夫です。

    • Special dietary requirements
      I cannot eat wheat- no pasta, ramen, bread, pizza. Soy sauce is okay. 小麦アレルギーです。パスタ、パン、ピザ、ラーメンは食べれません。ただし、醤油は大丈夫です。

Photos

Feedback