Olivia & Brian

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland

  • ...

    Travel dates

    12/08/2018 - 31/12/2019

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    We are a mature married couple in search of new experiences on what we are referring to as our "gap year"! We are currently based in the uk but have lived in Ireland and Spain too. We love meeting new people and visiting new places. We have worked in a variety of jobs, spanning from careers advisers to data protection consultancy. Most recently we worked in Catalunya as seasonal holiday reps. Several years ago we established and ran our own tapas bar in the uk and have renovated properties too. We are physically fit and hardworking and are keen to learn new skills.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    We are physically fit and energetic and don't mind hard work! We have run our own business in the hospitality sector so have all the associated skills. We have good communication skills and enjoy working with a wide range of different people. We have both worked in education and advice work and have also volunteered for charities. We have informal experience of teaching English and this is something we particularly enjoy. We have renovated several UK properties, so have experience of painting and decorating. One workaway was at a cortijo where we gained experience of tree pruning, irrigation channel digging and roof repairing (amongst other things)! Another Workaway involved us looking after a hotel whilst the owners went on holiday.We have experience in many fields and are keen to learn new skills; we're willing to give most things a try!

  • Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, some French, a little German;

  • Age

    48 & 55

  • Nationality

    British & Irish

  • What else ...

    We are flexible as well as responsible, but we try not to take life too seriously! We love to meet people from all different walks of life and learn more about other cultures. We love food and cooking and try to live an ethical life. We are definitely low maintenance and able to work with minimum supervision.
    We work well as a team, but are also happy to work on seperate tasks as long as our working hours are more or less the same. We are keen to improve our Spanish, but are also interested in learning other languages. (Tenemos muchas ganas mejorar nuestra español - entendemos mucho mas que podemos hablar! Tenemos una profesora aquí y hacemos lecciones cada semana pero tenemos que practicar en la vida diaria. También nos disfrutamos muchos ayudar con inglés, si quiera hacer un "intercambio")
    Please feel free to ask us anything else as I'm sure we've missed a few things!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Pescatarian

Photos

Feedback