Kathleen

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada

  • ...

    Travel dates

    09/07/2018 - 08/07/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    930

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Originally from Indonesia, I have been living in Montreal the past 14 years. After coming back from my one-year mandate in community development in Tanzania, I realized I want to continue doing something more fulfilling. I have always been interested in permaculture, self sufficient and tiny living; so I decided to take a gap year just to do volunteering around Canada.

    I will be travelling with my senior dog, Buddy. He is a 10yo retriever, extremely calm and quiet. He gets along very well with kids and very patient. He is not aggressive and normally just mind his own business. Whenever he sees a cat, he would usually just leave them alone and would not bother them. He really is a sweetheart. I am a low maintenance kind of girl, all I need is my Buddy to also be welcomed. We would gladly sleep in a room, or in a tent; it is not a problem.

    I think it is a beautiful thing to have exchanges that are not monetary based but rather about connection, learning, and sharing. I am very open-minded, flexible, and reliable. I hope that one day everyone will have access to food, and that we would live in a sustainable community.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I am used to physical labour since majority of the time I work in the kitchen.
    I love to cook
    I have done some babysitting as well (along with Buddy! he is a great babysitter and entertainer)
    I can help out in any art project, website, marketing or brochures, etc.
    I am bringing my tempeh starter with me and it would be an absolute pleasure to share a part of my culture with my hosts.

    graphic design
    pastry maker
    kitchen staff
    administrative work
    had some training in beekeeping
    did some painting job couple years ago

    -no skill in farming, but I strive to learn everything about farming and construction along this journey

  • Languages spoken

    English, French, Indonesian, Chinese, and a bit of Swahili (Tanzanian)

  • Age

    30

  • Nationality

    Canadian

  • What else ...

    You can see me as the jack of all trades and the master of none. I have vast experience, though I always look at it from the perspective of food system and sustainability.

    I love going to theatre, hiking, biking, storytelling, and drawing.

    My website is www.novelia.ca if you would like to know even more about me

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback