Kimberly

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Cambodia, China, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Japan, Laos, Malaysia, Mongolia, Nepal, Philippines, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Vietnam

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/06/2018 - 01/09/2018

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    518

  • Badges

    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hi there,

    My name is Kim and I am a traveler and adventurer! I'm currently working in a lake side lodge on Lake Atitlan in Guatemala via workaway and am loving every second of it. I'm finishing up my third month here and preparing to move eastward to Asia. I have a great time utilizing my customer service skills here when checking guests in/out, helping in the kitchen and bar, and being able to teach yoga as well as give Indian Head Massages that I got certified to do whilst here. It's a great environment of interacting with fellow travelers while working side by side with the locals.

    I'm headed next to India where I can study yoga in an immersive environment. From there, I am looking to continue my practicing while doing a variety of jobs, such as teaching English, working in another hostel, or really anything that gets me involved in the local community.

  • Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I have my Bachelor of Arts in Liberal Studies and therefore have a lot of experience in the teaching field. I've taught English in Spain and Italy, volunteered in after school programs, and volunteered in environment programs to promote sustainable living. I also have over 3 years worth of customer service and sales skills in a professional setting. In addition, I enjoy teaching yoga classes and am currently finishing up a massage course.

  • Languages spoken

    English and a basic knowledge of Spanish.

  • Age

    25

  • Nationality

    USA

  • What else ...

    I have a deep rooted passion for traveling the world in a unique way where I can immerse myself in a community while giving back. I find this to be a very authentic way to experience a foreign culture while making lifelong friendships. Most of my experience traveling lies within teaching English while exploring the world. I have already taught English in Spain and Italy and now have a trip in June to teach English in Africa. Before I depart for that, however, I am looking continue teaching English some more or learn new skills such as building, elderly care giving, working with animals, or just about anything really! I have a constant thirst for learning new skills and can do so quickly!

    In addition to that, I absolutely love living an adventurous lifestyle. I love hiking, camping, doing just about anything in the beautiful outdoors. I have an adrenaline junky side to me, as well. Skydiving, for example, is something I recently checked off my bucket list. I am a very healthy and active person who enjoys making healthy meals, practicing yoga, going on long runs. I'm a pretty social person who likes to connect with just about anybody and everybody, which is a huge change from who I used to be before I started traveling! Lastly, I like to think of myself as extremely open-minded and positive. I've traveled enough by now to know not everybody views the world as I do and that I must respect this. I'm a pretty upbeat person with a positive outlook on life!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian, but no allergies

Photos

My Photo Album

Feedback