Iris

From: Netherlands

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada

  • ...

    Travel dates

    05/02/2017 - 05/02/2018

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    229

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hi! My name is Iris, an 27 year old Dutch girl. I recently graduated after studying art history and film and photography for eight years. And not I am a certified international art teacher. I really wanted to travel for some time before starting a job and decided to apply for the International Experience Canada. I got accepted in March 2016 and I am activating my one-year visa this February. I am super excited to start my year of travel and work in Canada and I am looking for ways to get everything out of this experience I can!
    I think working for a host on workaway will be an amazing way to meet new people from all over the world, experience new thing and to keep learning even if I am not a student anymore!

    My hobbies are travel, art, photography and cooking. I love meeting new people, talk about life and visit new places. I am a big fan of being outdoors, camping and hiking, so I don't mind doing work outside. Most of the time I actually prefer it over sitting inside :)
    I do not mind working hard to keep a healthy balance between work and travel.
    I have previous experience in dog walking, cleaning, as a bike messenger and in hospitality, catering and kitchen work.

    My native language is Dutch, my English proficiency is near native and I speak a little bit of French and German.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I am a graduated World Teacher in Art and Art History. This means I am certified to teach these subjects in both Dutch and English and an international environment. I love putting together projects involving art and general history.
    I have experience with cleaning and hospitality and working and cooking in a big kitchen. I have also walked and worked with many breeds of dogs in the past few years.

    I have not worked through Workaway before, but I have traveled quite a bit and I have done plenty volunteer work at home.
    I have visited most countries in Europe and North America, including a short internship at a project based school in San Diego.

  • Languages spoken

    Dutch, English, German, French

  • Age

    29

  • Nationality

    Dutch

  • What else ...

    I would love to meet new people and broaden my horizon. If you offer a place to work or a project i have no experience with yet, that would be great! I am open to new things and projects. I am not afraid to get my hands dirty and work hard.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      cats

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Having fun after the snowstorm in Montreal
Art project about van Gogh
My lovely workaway family in Sherbrooke!
My home away from home in Montreal :D
Hiking at the Columbia Icefield in the Rockies
On a trip to Lake Louise with my host family
Halloween with my lovely host family in Ucluluet!
Afternoon walks in Victoria, BC

Feedback