Ceri & Jonathan

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Costa Rica, South Africa

  • ...

    Travel dates

    02/01/2019 - 30/08/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello :)

    We are Jonathan (Jon) and Ceri, we are new to workaway so bare with us!

    To give you some background information……I (Ceri) am a specialist cancer nurse at the Royal Devon and Exeter hospital in South West England. I have been a nurse for 6 years and love my job! I have grown up living on my family farm which has 3000 pigs, a dairy herd and the normal dogs, cats and chickens. I have ridden all my life having horses at home since the age of 9. I was a very active member of ‘The Pony Club’ and competed in Showjumping, eventing, tetrathlon regularly hunted over Dartmoor National Park. Whilst at school I competed in 10 Tors challenge (https://www.tentors.org.uk/challenge/about ) and Duke of Edinburgh award Bronze, Silver and Gold. As part of this I did 3 weeks volunteering and trekking in southern India in the ‘Good will villages’ teaching and caring for the children ( http://www.goodwillhomes.org.uk/ ). Following on from this I trained for 3 years at University in Bristol for my Nursing degree and am currently working towards a masters in healthcare.

    I (Jon) have worked within the agriculture sector all my working life which has included working picking fruit and veg, driving combines and sprayers and working with all manners of livestock.
    Attending a local agricultural college I achieved degree level in agriculture covering all aspects of management and husbandry in crops and livestock. I have ridden all my life on and off since the age of 7 competing regularly. I have also always been very enthusiastic for all sports and country pursuits.

    As a couple we have been together for 10 years and married for 5. We met at our Local Young farmers club as both heavily involved in group activities, leadership and social events!!
    In recent years we have hunted on horse back all over the UK but predominantly within the Dartmoor National Park. We have decided to both take a career breaks from our demanding vocations and are really keen to travel the world, explore different opportunities and cultures.

    Our love for the outdoors and our joint passion for horses means we a very keen to pursue trying to combine travel, horses and the outdoors all in one. If anyone is able to offer a potential opportunity for us we would be very grateful!! We are both very hard working, enthusiastic, friendly and sociable couple. We are very willing to learn and open minded to new experiences.

    Thank you for reading :)

  • Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists

  • What skills do you have?

    First aid trained (Ceri fully trained nurse)
    Equine management and experienced riders
    Extensive experience working in agriculture
    Looking after children
    Helping tourists

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    28 & 33

  • Nationality

    British

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      NO

    • Special dietary requirements
      NO

Feedback