Carmen

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Costa Rica, El Salvador, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    03/11/2018 - 22/08/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    860

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    I am Carmen, I am from the countryside in Northern Ireland, and I lived in Leeds, England, for 5 years during and after I was studying for my degree in English Literature. I am a passionate traveller, I love to meet to people and experience new cultures, and to be challenged and thrown into new situations.

    I have been in Guatemala for 3 months, learning Spanish and soaking up the culture. I am particularly interested in volunteering in NGO's or charities, working to help make a difference.

    I like to write, play music and make art in my spare time. I am extremely interested in improving my language skills- particularly Spanish!
    I like to go on (fairly amateur) hikes to explore the countryside, whether home or abroad, and even in cities I like to explore by wandering through the streets and soaking up the atmosphere. I enjoy experiencing local live music and trying local food, I am always trying to challenge myself with new experiences.
    I am a very hard worker and am happy being challenged with any task, I appreciate any opportunity to add to my experiences and to widen my skill set. I am generally a happy, upbeat and determined person and I think this makes me a good person to have around. I have experience living in various living situations with a variety of types of people, numbers of housemates and sizes of houses/flats so I am adaptable to different living situations and happy to put in the work to make everyone happy.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I like to cook, independently and with others, and would be glad to learn any new dishes. I am very happy to take care of a house by cleaning and helping with other housework.
    I've worked with, lived with and engaged in creative projects with very different people and I think that I am good at meeting people and connect and communicating with them.
    I have worked a lot in the customer service and the hospitality industry and I am very good with customers, at making them feel welcome and helping them with anything they need.
    I love animals and am very happy to look after animals, I have had pets most of my life and enjoy having them around.
    I have some experience with home improvements, mostly with sanding down and repainting furniture but would be happy to learn if more specific skills were required
    As I have said previously I am always happy and excited to learn more skills and give myself new challenges so I will work hard to learn new skills quickly so I can be of as much help as possible.

  • Languages spoken

    English, intermediate Spanish, elementary French.

  • Age

    26

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Xela, Guatemala
San Cristobal, Mexico
Barcelona, Spain
Berlin, Germany
Slieve Gallion, Ireland
Kalabaka, Greece

Feedback