Andrew

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Mexico

  • ...

    Travel dates

    20/03/2016 - 01/08/2018

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    I am currently 6 months in to an extended working/volunteering stay in Mexico.

    My first 5 weeks was in a hostel in San Cristobal, Chiapas, working on the bar, reception, breakfast and room cleaning. During this stay I took a month of private Spanish lessons to bring my level up to intermediate/high, so I can work in dual-language environments.

    I have now been interning with an NGO in Oaxaca for 4 months, utilizing my design background on all of their communications (emails, social media and a website redesign), plus volunteer admin, fundraising co-ordination and event planning. This was to build experience of working in a non-profit environment because that is where I want to progress in my career.

    Now I am looking to specialise my working experience to an environmental/conservation/waste-reduction NGO. This is the area I am particularly passionate about now and the incredible biodivirsity of Mexico, alongside the devastating power of the oil industry and other heavily polluting industries like concrete and beer here, provides the perfect setting to offer immediate help.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Graphic Design, Bar work, hospitality, teaching, art

  • Languages spoken

    English and intermediate-high Spanish

  • Age

    30

  • Nationality

    United Kingdom

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback