Gillian & Keith

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada, Italy

  • ...

    Travel dates

    10/09/2018 - 28/12/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    85

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    We are a hardworking and dedicated team. We have been happily married for over 34 years and in February 2016 we decided to act on our dream of travelling around the world working and volunteering.
    We gave up our home in the UK and are currently living in Brian our little caravan, it is a simple life without the hindrance of material things and we love it.
    I (Keith) am a qualified engineer and after 20 years in car industry decided work in education. For the last 20 years I have worked as a design technician teaching children aged 11 to 18 woodwork, resistant materials and metal work skills. I also spent some time working as a sawyer in the marble industry.
    I (Gill) have done a wonderful variety of jobs from before settling down, everything from hospitality to cleaning to caring, shop work, running my own craft business, childminding to doing local government work during elections and at census time. I also completed a year introduction to engineering.
    After I settled down I became a science and pharmacy technician until I changed careers to work with children, young people and teachers designing and running education activities for the Red Cross. I ran a youth service working with vulnerable young people and later became a national education development manager and travelled extensively for work. I have recently trained as a life coach and am an occasional trainer for Mental Health first aid England.
    We have both been volunteers for youth organisations.
    We started out on our adventure for a season at a French Campsite, doing mobile home changeovers, cleaning, gardening, pool maintenance and cooking.

    We have done a good deal of house maintenance on our travels everything from mending things to painting and mosaicing

    In the last few months we have worked on a 2 hectare finca in Tenerife growing and harvesting vegetables and fruit, at at yoga retreat for recovering addicts erecting tents and cooking. We have completed a number of housesits most recently at a cat hospice.
    We are currently working at a Sculpture Park for the third year running, gardening, general maintenance, running the bar and front of house on open days, refurbishing sculptures and making mosaics. We will also be preparing holiday homes for changeover days.

    We have done alot of housesitting on our travels and have found ourselves caring for large family of animals especially those that have been rescued.
    Since 2016 we have cared for over 180 cats and dogs plus chickens, terrapins and ducks.
    We have a profile on Mindmyhouse and our own FB page Pet Pamperers Professional and Passionate.
    So basically we will turn our hand to anything. We are trustworthy, reliable and caring and love to meet and work with new people. In our spare time we love travelling, walking and reading (both of us) and cycling, photography and creating art (Gill). In 2017 we backpacked around South East Asia and Morroco and in, 2019 we are motorbiking around Kerala in India.
    We love nature and the company of animals and meeting people from around the world.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    We are both very handy and can turn our hand to most things and are quick to learn. We are good communicators and have excellent people skills. We love working with animals and can care for large animal families. We have some experience of barwork and in meeting and greeting guests and managing holiday home changeovers.
    Keith is very mechanically minded and has wood and metal work skills. He is also gifted at working with and teaching children and young people. Gill is also very passionate and skilled in educating children, young people and adults and enjoys painting, crafts, sculpture renovation and mosaicing.
    We can do both do DIY work and house maintenance, gardening, ground and pool maintenance and we both cook well.
    Gill has many years experience of corporate messaging and promotion and basic skills in website design and blogging.

  • Languages spoken

    English and very basic French and Spanish

  • Age

    55 & 65

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    We have opted for the life of travelling and working as it gives us opportunities to learn new things and meet new people and animals. We passionately believe that the world is a better place if we all pull together.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      no

Photos

This is Brian our home
Having fun in Vietnam
The first week of our new life
Building a trellis for a secret garden Portovenere

Feedback