Cyrielle & Gildas

From: United Kingdom & France

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Hungary, Romania, Slovakia (Slovak Republic)

  • ...

    Travel dates

    30/04/2018 - 29/04/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    98

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hi, We are The Bee Family (always buzzing!)
    Our backgrounds:
    we are a French family of 4 and a Siamese cat on the roads of Europe in our motor home B'Van. We are French, from Brittany initially but moved a lot within our country before finally leaving Paris with Sevcik our cat and start our family in Norwich, in the UK. Kate arrived in 2009 and Thaïs in 2012. In our sedentary life, Daddy Gildas had two jobs: in the day, he was a plant biologist researching on plant immune system at the Sainsbury Laboratory and at night, a building worker who renovated from bottom to top our Victorian house (plastering, wiring, plumbing, decorating, woodworking, gardening...). Mummy Cyrielle (trained as a soil and water pollution specialist, then co-managed the building of a hotel, then organised corporate events for a giant hotel in Paris) was then a full time mum as well as a French private tutor (and an assistant to the building worker!). Her main job in the last 8 years has been to tailor their life in order for it to offer diverse and rich opportunities for growing to Kate and Thaïs.
    Our current life:
    In November 2017, we decided to take the opportunity of the end of Gildas' 3rd contract to set off on our travels around Europe in a motor home. We started our adventures in February from France qnd since then have explored central Portugal, Southern Spain, The Netherlands, Denmark, Sweden, Norway, Finland, Italy, Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia Herzegovina, Montenegro, Albania, Republic of North Macedonia and now (april 2019, Greece !). It has been a lot of adjustment but we are now pretty settled in our routine, with a good family pace around Cyrielle's translation and writing work and diy-ing jobs on B'Van. We've been helping at farms in France, Portugal, Spain, Norway and Sweden (the last two being workaway hosts).
    What brought us to workaway:
    Our travels have brought us to meet lots of wonderful people. Most of all, we've loved our stays at farms, taking part in the project as much as and when it was needed. We therefore decided to register on work away to take part in this network and get in touch with enthusiastic open minded people who would like us to come and help in their farms or simply sharing quality time with other families.
    What we can offer:
    We are healthy, hard working and pragmatical, quite experienced on traditional house building and gardening as well as hospitality but most of all we are quick and sensible learners. Us being a family and Cyrielle working about 20h a week means that we can't commit to full time work but equally we are autonomous in our house on wheels. Cyrielle is knowledgeable in horses (welfare is paramount). We love kids and our bilingual kids are always very happy to meet and interact with other kids as well as adults. Ours are home schooled with a mix of outdoor free learning, work books and bigger projects. Like us, they are highly adaptable and eager to learn.
    Please get in touch wherever you may be in Europe! We'd love our paths to cross!
    Cyrielle&Gildas, Kate ad Thaïs

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    Cyrielle&Gildas: plant biologists with traditional gardening experiences, notions of permaculture gardening, engaged parents of 2 home educated girls
    Cyrielle: horse positive training, positive education (growth mindset approach, sensory processing awareness, forest school), professional translation English to French, interior design of a hotel and our house
    Gildas: building works (plastering, electrics, and all DIYing, now transferred onto improving our house on wheels), inventor
    Kate: artist, explorer, free spirit, inventor
    Thaïs: artist, story teller and actress, singer, social bee
    Sevcik: easy going old boy, never scratched or bit anyone except mice and birds...

  • Languages spoken

    English, French (and a bit of German) and we work on having a basic understanding of the language of each country we visit (so far, Spanish, Swedish, Norwegian and Italian)

  • Age

    37 & 38

  • Nationality

    french

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback