Tess

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Ireland, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/12/2017 - 01/05/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    440

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hi! My name is Tess Hostetter. I grew up on dirt roads and tundra in a remote village of Alaska called Igiugig. We are a town of 70 people located 250 air miles (400km) from the nearest city, Anchorage. This is where I learned to value sustainability, environmental stewardship, community, and cultural exchange.
    I am a solo-female traveller. I have been a member of the World Wide Organization of Organic Farming (WWOOFer) in America and have volunteered at three farms, staying a minimum of three weeks at each.My preferred methods of learning are through working and immersing myself in the lifestyles of others.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists

  • What skills do you have?

    I love animals and have held responsibilities feeding and caring for horses, goats, pigs, chickens, and sheep. I am good at following directions and have a steep learning curve. I enjoy small group collaboration, active learning methods, and early mornings. I can operate hand tools and love outdoor work activities. I am a hiker and biker which also means I am very concise and aware of what I carry, consume, and waste.

    I can operate chainsaws, ATV's, and various small-boat motors. I have done some lawn-mowing but not an expert. I have mostly volunteered on animal husbandry farms and small gardens and would feel comfortable doing daily chores in those fields.

    Lastly, I can tell you anything you want to know about Alaska's brown bears or 5 species of salmon.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    22

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

My Photo Album

Feedback