STEVEN

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    27/01/2019 - 31/03/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hi!

    I am an Architect from Australia on a long-term sabbatical, looking to broaden my experience and skill set. I am independently mobile; travelling the country in my van. I have a Green Card and am able to work legally in the USA.

    So far on this journey I have:

    Tilled and planted new garden beds.
    Poured concrete strip footings.
    Laid concrete blocks (I became quite good at this).
    Built furniture (a growing passion of mine) and a free mini library.
    Designed a remodel and alterations for my host's home in Nashville (drafting in AutoCAD, and providing quantities lists).
    Re-built the walkway to a dock in SC.
    Baked bread & bread rolls, among other cooking tasks (I was a cook in my youth).
    Dug terraces into a clay slope so that it could be planted with pollinator-friendly plants.
    Repainted rooms.
    Made new friends.

    I enjoy exploring the landscape through hiking and photography, solving problems (collaboratively or alone, in equal measure) and meeting new people and hearing their stories.

    Harmonious cooperation and joyful productivity are important to me, whatever the task may be. I learn quickly, work hard, and take pride in my work.

    I am physically fit, emotionally mature and have abundant and disciplined energy. I take care with all that I do and if in doubt will take my time rather than rush and do something incorrectly.

    I love learning new things and sharing knowledge openly.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Building design & construction
    Furniture design, woodwork & carpentry
    Photography
    Intermediate IT and computer operation
    Design, Architecture and Photography software
    Interior design & decorating
    House painting
    Illustration & decorative painting
    Complex problem solving
    Cleaning & general organisation
    Project management

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    39

  • Nationality

    Australian

  • What else ...

    I am also seeking house-sitting positions in interesting places. I am willing to trade upkeep and renovation work for accommodations and possibly an allowance (depending on workload). Pets also considered.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback