Kenneth

From: Spain

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Jamaica, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Uruguay

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/02/2019 - 31/12/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    428

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer
    Facebook verified

Watch my profile video


  • Description

    Kenneth: I am a former VisualBasic programmer who now lives and works as an English teacher. I teach English online using Skype although I have taught at universities. Previously I lived and worked in Madrid & Málaga, Spain.
    I've worked in travel, banking, finance, construction, insurance and education.
    I'm a father of two adult sons.
    My hobbies include cooking (I really love inventing and learning new dishes), blogging, video editing/production, t-shirt design, painting (I've had several solo exhibitions in Spain), cycling, skating, jogging, hiking and reading.
    My blogs/vlogs:
    Speak Think Learn: http://speakthinklearn.com

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I know languages (teach English/speak Spanish), computers (former programmer), cooking, art (I paint), maintenance (some basic woodworking, painting, electricity), gardening & farming, and web design (I have a couple of blogs/vlogs including http://speakthinklearn.com ).
    I also do some graphic design and video production.
    In previous WorkAway experiences, I've cared for the following animals: dogs, cats, horses, goats, chickens, pigs, ducks, geese & rabbits

    *️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️The above video is one I recorded, edited and produced for one of my past WorkAway hosts.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Spanish

  • Age

    50

  • Nationality

    USA

  • What else ...

    While volunteering I work part time teaching classes online. I have my own 4G internet router. This means I can only volunteer in places that offer good mobile phone coverage or reliable wi-fi. My class hours or flexible, but I prefer to have a block of at least 4 hours free each day during mornings, afternoons or evenings.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      soy, uncooked onions

    • Special dietary requirements
      vegetarian (but flexible)

Photos

With my host in Usumlu, Turkey where I worked at a rural guesthouse. I helped in the kitchen, the gardens, with guest and also with animals (chickens and dogs).
In Jablonka Slovakia where I worked on a farm with horses, goats, chickens, pig, dogs, sheep and also helped with harvesting apples as well as with basic maintenance.
volunteering in Turkey
enjoying the kids at a WorkAway post in Nepal
Working with other WA volunteers and local population to clean a beach on Lombok, Indonesia
Painting/collage created from all recycled materials for WA project in Indonesia
Logo I created for a WA project in Indonesia
Repairing damaged cob steps at WA project on Lombok, Indonesia
Lime-plaster coated, cob stairway at WA project in Lombok, Indonesia. I mixed cob, repaired broken steps and helped others to mix and apply lime-plaster.
Seat for a swing made from old flip flops. My idea but done with 2 other volunteers at WA project in Palopo, Indonesia.
Teaching a high-school English class at WA project in Palopo, Indonesia
Splitting bamboo at WA project in Palopo, Indonesia
Cooking with another WorkAwayer - Taiwan
Teaching - Vietnam
With seedlings I grew - Taiwan

Feedback