Alba & Shane

From: Ireland

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    10/05/2019 - 18/07/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    659

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    We are a couple who were settled in the West of Ireland for the past 7 years (Alba, Spanish and Shane, Irish) and are now planning our Canadian/American adventure. We are looking to meet people, have amazing experiences and learn new skills as well as share what we know. We are animal and music lovers and not afraid to get our hands dirty.
    Before we started our travels, Alba was working as a supervisor in a busy city centre restaurant and Shane was an audio visual technician based in Galway city. We both loved our work but wanted a change of scenery and always wanted to see what the different corners of the world has to offer!
    We had our first workaway experience last summer, one month in a holiday village located near Saintes (France) where we were part of a small team. Working both along side the owners and individually we completed many DIY projects and helped with the cleaning and maintenance of the many holiday cottages on the property. It was a lot of fun and we met some amazing people.
    We are currently looking for our next workaway hosts.
    The adventure continues :)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Alba: I was a restaurant supervisor for two years in a fast paced, street food style, chili themed restaurant. I was a childminder for three years (while also working other jobs in the service industry). Over the holidays I work at a Christmas interactive theater experience for kids called ElfTown where I play an elf who guides kids through a winter wonderland to meet Santa. I have a completed a TEFL course and 3 out of 4 years of a bachelors degree in English. I managed an apartment for AirBnb which involved everything from organising the bookings, taking care of the page, taking pictures, greeting guests and cleaning.

    Shane: I am a sound and lighting technician with qualifications in construction. I have worked in audio-visual operation for the past 4 years all around Ireland and the UK, setting up and operating equipment for events.
    I worked in construction for a number of years prior, mainly with stone/masonry but have experience in most aspects of building (growing up as a builders son, I have worked on sites from a young age).
    I also have experience in the service industry.

    We're both used to handywork, eager to try new things and learn lots!

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish, English and Irish

  • Age

    27 & 31

  • Nationality

    Spanish & Irish

  • What else ...

    Shane is a musician by hobby, Alba is a keen photographer. We both enjoy the outdoors and our favourite sport is slacklining. We like swimming and hiking and generally exploring new places.
    We also have a love for Movies and enjoy going to see live music.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      We are both vegetarian/vegan

Photos

Feedback