Michal & Izabella

From: Poland

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/02/2019 - 31/01/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    We are travelers from Poland. In 2017 we quit our job to discover the world and we started our big journey. We have been in Thailand, Singapur, Malaysia, Laos, Vietnam, Indonesia, Japan, Australia and New Zealand. The journey gave us the opportunity to meet new people and learn about their culture. However, the most important thing is that we could admire the beauty of the world. In Australia we cycled 3000 km along the east coast, in New Zealand we spent three months walking in the mountains, in Japan we completed the 1000 km long mountain trail from Tokyo to Osaka. Now it's time to start new challenges, time to explore North America.

    IZA:
    I'm friendly and open-mind person. My head is full of dreams and ideas - I wanna realize all of them:) I love travelling, meeting new people and visiting new places, that's why I decided to start long journey around the world. My hobbies are trekking, hiking and orienteering competitions (running, cycling and kayaking with map). I like to spend my time actively. It's nice to feel big satisfaction, when you finish for example 24-hours competitions or reach the top of mountain.
    Before our travel I worked in big, very popular in Poland convenience store chain (the name of my company was Froggy:)). It was typical corporation and I worked really hard. I was a buyer assistant, so I was responsible for price negotiation and contact with suppliers. It was very stressfull job, but during 1,5 year I learned a lot of things. It was also good experience after my studies (I studied Commodity Science and Food Technology at two different universities).
    I worked also in HR company, microbiological laboratory or call center:)

    MICHAŁ:
    Life on the run - that is me!
    I love activity. Every moment of free time I spend running, cycling and hiking in the mountains. I like rivalry, so I take part in many sports competitions (halfmarathons, marathons, ultramarathons).
    I am proud to have completed ultramarathon at a distance of 110 km. Very satisfying for me are the orienteering competitions, which combine three disciplines: running, bike and kayak. Thanks to this, you can know how strong are your body and psyche. However, I love mountains the most. I spend there free time on hiking, sleeping in the tent and taking pictures of nature. My biggest success was getting Kazbek mountain in Georgia (5046 meters above sea level).
    Before travel I worked in company similar like Valu Mart. I was store manager. I was responsible for making orders, hiring staff, planning staff days, customer service and store results. This work has taught me management, good planning and conversation with people. I know how to deal with stress and I can come up with a solution even in the worst case.
    I also worked as a carpenter in the construction of houses. Thanks to this work I learned construction. Now I can fix many things at home, make renovations myself and build simple furniture. I have also experience whit kids. My mother was a babysitter, so always our house was full of kids. I worked as a bartender's assistant (U.S.A), gardener's assistant (my friend's company) and a storekeeper in a kitchenware store. I spent the last few months in a village in Sweden, where I worked in the production of carrots. Thanks to this work, I gained little experience in agricultural work.

    If you want to know more about us, please visit our fanpage: https://www.facebook.com/poznanskielaziki/
    Unfortunately, it is only in Polish, but sometimes pictures say more than words:)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Other
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    IZA:
    I have experience with teaching. During my studies I was one year a volunteer in primary school. Every week I met with 7-years old girl and helped her to learn (usually) writing and reading. It was very creative work - I prepared for this girl some games, songs, pictures or puzzles. During my journey I had also possibility to use my skills during english lessons in thai school. We spend there with Michał only few days, but it was amazing experience. I have also good contact with younger kids. In Poland I spent a lot of time with my 3-years old nephew.
    I can of course help also in kitchen, house or garden. It would be also nice to learn something new:)
    I love animals, but unfortunaly I never had my own pet. It will be pleasure to take care of animals too.

    MICHAŁ:
    First of all I am a strong man who is not afraid of any work. I worked on construction for two years. I learned a lot of things. Now I can build a simple wood construction myself. I also did a lot of roofing work. I am not afraid of electrical tools and I know how to use them well  I can paint walls and renovate or fix your apartment. I have head full of ideas and I can get out of every oppression. I quickly learn new things and I like challenges. I have a driving license and I have experience in driving vans.
    I am also an amateur photographer and I know a little bit on graphic programs. You can use my knowledge to improve your social media or website.
    In Poland we lived in big city, but we love spending our free time in nature. We like adventures and have also some survival skills. We are happy to share our hobby with you. If you would like to start running or start your adventure with hiking in the mountains, we will be glad to help you.

  • Languages spoken

    Polish, English

  • Age

    31 & 30

  • Nationality

    Poland

  • What else ...

    We are looking for places where we can not only help, but also learn something new, meet friendly people and spend nice time. We can sleep in tent (this is usually our "house" during trip). So we need place to sleep (it can be room, bed, floor or grass), simple food and good atmosphere:)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback