Penny

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada

  • ...

    Travel dates

    06/02/2019 - 07/04/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi. Thank you for reading my profile. I am a Canadian girl who loves to volunteer and lend a hand any way possible. Recently, I've retired from my administrative profession and decided to travel and see the world, at the same time volunteering.
    I'm a very easy going person, simple in the way I live and see the world. I lived in western Kenya for 2 years without running water, electricity or indoor plumbing and to be honest, it's a life that I love very much. Simple and basic. People are my passion and unfortunately get connected very easily which makes it so difficult for me to move on.
    Living life with happiness, honesty, integrity and love are what makes me who I am and would love to share what I have with those around me. I feel that the simplest of gestures even such as a smile, goes a very long way in making another person feel good about themselves.
    Taking care of our envirnment, whether it be regarding recycling, reusing, reducing; water consumption; electricity conservation; is VERY important to me.
    I feel I was put here on this earth to give and share the gift of love and kindness. There is alot to share about myself but everyone sees something different, so I'll let you decide through the conversation I am sure we will have before you accept me as a volunteer.

    Thank you,
    Penny

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I am an avid volunteer and have volunteered doing construction, farming, permaculture, teaching, childcare, nursing/medical care. Rather than anything specific, I have many skills.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    53

  • Nationality

    Canadian

  • What else ...

    Traveling and meeting new people is a huge passion of mine. In order for me to do so, I extend my travel time to include volunteering as it is the the absolute best way to give back. I love helping out in any way I can.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No known allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Traditional dancing at Kit Makaye, Kenya.
Heavy buckets of water...hauling to water the garden. Tawi Initiative, Kisumu, Kenya.
Sweet little Sabrina...stole my heart the moment I saw her. Tumaini Miles of Smiles Orphanage, Kakamega, Kenya.
Building a base for our new water tank, Tawi Initiative, Kisumu, Kenya.
One of my zucchini's, Tawi Initiative, Kisumu, Kenya.
They brought me a welcome gift....so sweet.
Building stairs
Planting a jack fruit
Teaching the children to swim...Lake Bunyonyi, Uganda.
Preparing maize for grinding to make ugali. Mvimwa Benedictine Abbey, Tanzania.
The latest in fashion...gum boots and kikoy. Preparing tree seedlings at Mvimwa Benedictine Abbey, Tanzania.
With Eric at Human Dreams Children Village - home for disabled orphans.

Feedback