Matthew

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Argentina, Australia, Bolivia, Chile, China, Colombia, Ecuador, India, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, Myanmar, Nepal, New Zealand, Peru, Sweden, Taiwan, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    20/08/2017 - 20/08/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi, im Matt, 42 year old, mature, responsible and trustworthy, i enjoy the simple life and like to be in the peace and quiet mostly ;) . Im a long term traveller....over 4 years and counting...in a “previous life “ i was running family owned truck/ large vehicle repair business in the UK for almost 20 years, i have extensive experience in mechanical repairs to Diesel engines including trucks,plant etc also good welding/ metalwork/ vehicle electrical/ general repairs etc. happy to assist in various repairs and practical tasks mechanical or otherwise. Have good driving skills in truck,plant and some machinery. I'm a country type, originally from a rural area in West Sussex, England so am quite happy doing outdoor/ manual/farm tasks. I've really signed up for workaway to try and engage with local people and learn more about their respective cultures and traditions which is a primary reason for my global travels which is to experience different countries and people, if I can also help people along the way then all the better :) my recent adventures have been climbing in Nepal and Himalayas, summiting Ama Dablam in November 2018 was a dream climb for me before ive also climbed in the Andes including Aconcagua in Argentina, Cotopaxi volcanoe in Ecuador and hiking is also a favourite pastime ive walked the Te Araroa walking trail 3000km the length of New Zealand, Larapinta trail and other long trails around Australia and Tasmania and extensively around Nepal himalaya, i feel truly lucky to experience such beautiful places and people, it continues to be an amazing journey on which I've done everything from fixing vehicles, water pumps, generators, gardening, general repairs, construction, carpentry, bamboo construction,cleaning and then shearing alpacas! I look forward to helping and meeting more people on my travels.
    I volunteer via Helpx ( another volunteering site..i can supply details for reference). Ive done a very wide range of things on my travels from construction work, driving machines and trucks/ loaders, fixed lots of mechanical stuff from engine powered water pumps, chainsaws and mowers, cars/ machinery etc to washing dishes, helped in kitchens, served tables in a restaurant, gardening, cleaning etc etc. im not fussy what i do and always keen to learn new skills. We never stop learning :) i can work on my own initiative and dont need people to " hold my hand" ;)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Wide range of practical skills, i can drive and operate most vehicles snd machinery, can fix and repair most things! Im a diesel mechanic by trade. Im happy to help out with construction work, metalwork, farming, gardening, hotel kitchen and room/ house keeping work.

  • Languages spoken

    English... un poco español!!

  • Age

    42

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    Im always open to new experiences and would like to share my knowledge and hopefully learn something new from my hosts. Ive used the helpx website for volunteering in the past and can supply details and references, im not just another backpacker thatll waste your time or just looking for a free ride, i enjoy to help genuine people and causes.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Mostly vegetarian but fish also

Photos

Feedback