Marina

From: Greece

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia, Belgium, Chile, China, Croatia, France, Germany, Hungary, Netherlands, Serbia, Slovakia (Slovak Republic), United Kingdom, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/04/2019 - 01/09/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello everyone!
    I'm Marina and I come from Thessaloniki, Greece. I'm a history and greek language teacher. I have just completed an MA degree in Intercultural Communication and Education. I am very interested in working with people coming from different cultures and cultural minorities. Especially, I'm interested when cultural identity intersects with lgbtqia identity, as lgbtq plays a big part in my life.

    At 2017, I was admitted in Greek state's Film School. Currently, I do not attend lessons, but I have some film-making skills. I had participated in a couple of short-films and it was quite fun!

    During the last years I have been working as a private teacher, doing ancient/modern greek language and literature and history lessons. Last summer, I had my first workaway hostel experience which openned me new paths. I especially enjoyed the reception duties, which made me come in contact with various people and personalities.

    So that is the reason I continue to be on workaway! I'm very willing to meet new people and discover other cultures and lifestyles, help small businesses and attain new skills! More particularly I want to improve my french skills or even learn new languages. As a person, I'm tolerant, easy-going and I'm always trying to be as thoughtful as I can for an other person's perspective. I like to hear other people's life experiences and stories and (re)discover things about myself and the world!

    I consider myself mostly a city girl, but countryside and nature are refreshing. I've spent several summers camping and it was great!

    Feel free to contact me to share more details!

  • Type of help

    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I've done some private teaching to teenage pupils, so patience and punctuality. I also had done some archival work to a History Archive and I have some editing knowledge. As a historian and greek language teacher, I know a lot about greek culture.

    I'm not a great cooker, but I can do some basic meals. Past workaway experience includes reception duties. Basic housekeeping too.

    I've participated to a short-film (doing mostly general stuff). Also, I volunteered to an art festival back in my hometown, "Action Field Kodra".

  • Languages spoken

    Greek (native), English (C2), French (B2)

  • Age

    25

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      aspirin, fava/broad beans

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback