Laura

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Argentina, Chile

  • ...

    Travel dates

    23/08/2018 - 30/04/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello, / Hola,

    [Spanish version below/ versión española abajo]

    I'm Laura, 23 years old and currently travelling through South America after having finished my studies at uni. When I was 18 years old I went to Australia to do Work&Travel and that's when I fell in love with traveling. For me, the greatest part about traveling is getting to know different cultures and lifestyles which is why I prefer staying and working with locals on my trips rather than just visiting touristy attractions.

    I really appreciate the cultural exchange and try to take every opportuniy to learn new things, whether it is learning how to cook a local dish or learning about agriculture. I am curious about everything and my interests are really varied (agriculture, environment, viniculture, tourism...) which is why I am convinced there are many things to learn from absolutely every type of workaway stay.

    I do have a particular interest in farm work and farm stays though, which also goes back to my trip in Australia where I have done a lot of wwoofing. I especially enjoyed my two months stay on a big sheep farm in South Australia. Being in the great outdoors is just perfect for me and I really enjoy being hands on with all kinds of work as I can't stand sitting around doing nothing.

    Having said that, I am also up for lending a hand with other tasks - I actually do like cooking and gardening - or getting involved in environmental projects as I think caring and protecting our environment is an absolute priority. Basically, the only thing that matters for me when it comes to working abroad - no matter whether it is farm work, teaching my native language or rolling up my sleeves to plant some trees - is being able to help and the feeling of having achieved something when I go to bed after a long day.

    Traveling is my big passion and one of the best parts of it definitely is catching up with locals and see how they live. I love sharing their daily routine, hearing about what is it like to live in their country and sharing stories from my life and my home country Germany - although I definitely have to admit that I am not an expert for German culture ;)

    I am open to any new experience and looking forward to get to know South America like a local.

    Hoping to see you soon,

    Laura


    [versión española]

    Hola,

    me llamo Laura y tengo 23 años. Acabo de terminar mis estudios en la universidad y ahora estoy viajando por Suamérica. Cuando tenía 18 años, fui en Australia para hacer "Work&Travel" y eso fue que me enamoré de viajar. Lo que me gusta más en viajes es conocer otras culturas y modas de vida que son diferentes de lo que conozco yo. Por eso me gusta quedarme con la gente que vive acá en vez de sólo visitar los lugares turísticos de un país.

    Me gusta el intercambio cultural y hago uso de cada oportunidad para aprender nuevas cosas, si es aprender a cocinar un plato tradicional o aprender algo de agricultura. Soy una persona muy curiosa y me interesan muchas cosas (agricultura, vinicultura, turismo, medioambiente..), razón por la cual pienso que hay cosas a aprender de cada oportunidad de workaway.

    Sin embargo, tengo un interes especial en la vida rural y el trabajo en estancias lo que también debo a mi viaje por Australia donde hice el "wwoofing". Me gustó mucho mi experiencia en una estancia de ovejas donde trabajó durante dos meses. Me encanta estar en el campo, trabajar al aire libre y ver los resultos de mi trabajo. Definitivamente no soy la persona a la quién le gusta hacer nada.

    Pero también me gusta ayudar con otras tareas - también me gusta cocinar y trabajar en el jardín - o participar en un proyecto ambiental porque pienso que protegir el medioambiente es muy importante. Lo que es importante para mi cuando hago workaway es realmente poder ayudar y ver los resultos de mi trabajo al final del día, no importa si es trabajr en una estancia, plantar árboles o dar clases de mi lengua materna.

    Viajar es mi pasión favorita y la mejora parte es participar en la vida cotidiana de los del lugar y escuchar sus historias sobre la vida en su país. También puedo contar cosas de mi país materno que es la Alemania aunque no soy experta de cultura alemana ;)

    Soy abierta para toda experiencia nueva y conocer Sudamérica con los ojos de la gente que vive acá.

    Hasta luego,

    Laura

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I have only just completed my university degree in French and English with additional qualifications in journalism and media (also previous work experience in that field). From my earlier work as a wwoofer I can bring in skills in handling sheep and cattle and carrying out general farm work (i.e. fencing, general maintenance duties, water checks,...) as well as in gardening and property maintenance. I am also an experienced horse rider, a really passionate cook and always happy if I can lend a hand with household chores.

    Acabo de terminar mis estudios en la universidad dónde he pasado un grado en francés y inglés con calificaciones addicionales de periodismo y los medios de comunicación (también he trabajado en los medios). Durante mi experiencia haciendo wwoofing adquirí experiencia trabajar con ovejas y bovinos y construir cercos además de tareas de mantenimiento general y trabajos en el jardín. También soy una jinete experimentada y me gusta cocinar (en general no me molesta ayudar con tareas en el hogar).

  • Languages spoken

    German (native language), French (fluent), English (fluent), Spanish (B2 level)

  • Age

    23

  • Nationality

    German

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback