Fergus

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Kenya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, South Africa, Tanzania, Zambia, Zimbabwe

  • ...

    Travel dates

    18/01/2019 - 27/12/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    717

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Driving slowly around South Africa from Nov 2018 - Jan 2019.

    Primarily interested in plant cultivation, permaculture & closed loop systems. My ideal workaway is a beautiful landscape where there is space to experiment with projects that make harmonious use of the land, putting back more than is taken out. Recurring project favourites are:
    - composting (kitchen waste garden waste = black gold)
    - soil amendment (mulch, wood chips, straw, compost etc)
    - wholesale mulching to retain soil moisture & integrity
    - worm farming (to produce organic fertilizer)
    - growing from seed (salads, perennials, medicinal plants, shrubs, trees)
    - propagation (from cuttings, air layering, grafting)
    - basic hydroponics (no pump, no chemicals, Kratky type methods)
    - upcycling / downcycling
    - basic carpentry (building raised bed, planters, shelving units etc)
    - location-based closed loop systems

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists

  • What skills do you have?

    Listening. Following instructions. Conceptualizing new projects. Managing expectations. Thinking about the long-term impact. Observing nature. Responding to set-backs. Quiet leadership. Learning through action. Listening to the earth.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    32

  • Nationality

    Irish and South African

  • What else ...

    Dual Irish/South African nationality (born in Johannesburg, raised in England).
    Passionate about Africa - people, plants & wildlife.
    Preference for the simple life (birds, stars, fire)
    Happiest living close to the production (not consumption) portion of the supply chain.
    Also a Workaway host.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback