Florian

From: France

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Austria, Germany

  • ...

    Travel dates

    18/06/2018 - 03/07/2018

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello, I'm Florian, from France. I'm currently studying in the fields of human and social sciences at the University. I would like to take my summer holydays as an opportunity to travel, meet new people and discover different cultures. Indeed, I’ve always had this wish to go abroad and to open myself to new ways of life. Mankind is such a complicated and divers thing; I deeply believe that we have a lot to learn and to live by confronting ourselves to that diversity (well, or at least do I...).

    In a few words, I’m outgoing, open-minded, creative and curious about a lot of things (as you might now have guessed). I also love to think and debate about divers topics, which doesn’t mean that I’m afraid by more physical tasks... Indeed, I’m always thrilled to learn new stuff, from how to write prose poems to how to make cheese. And don’t worry, if I just have to cut chunks of wood, I’ll be able to do it efficiently without bothering you about life and death.
    Most of the time, I practice sport by riding my skateboard or my BMX, but I also enjoy mountain biking and hiking as I really appreciate getting in touch with nature.
    As I grew up in the countryside, nature has always been quite present and important in my daily life. I recently decided to get involved in Greenpeace’s actions as an activist to defend our environment.
    Moreover, I’m really interested in arts of all kind, especially in writing and music. I’ve been playing the bass guitar for now more than 3 years (this might be the occasion for you to ask me why bass guitars only have 4 strings and why bassists are so frequently forgotten). I mostly listen to rock/metal music but I also enjoy jazz, blues and reggae. What’s true for music is also true for many things in our world: boundaries are most of the time superficial and stereotypes have to be overcome.
    Finally, I’m also pretty much interested by everything related to personal development. I’ve had the occasion to learn things about meditation and how to live a healthier life but I know I still have a lot to discover in this domain. I believe that travels and encounters can be a way for me to go forward on my path.

    As a Workawayer, I’m not going to bother you about comfort and tiny details all the time; I’m more into the “trip thing”. I’ll be able to enjoy my free time on my own but also to share some time with you if you wish so.
    I hope I’ll find hosts willing to welcome me into their house and their life so that we can get to know each other (and so that you didn’t read my long tirade for nothing!).
    See you soon, Florian.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I can help you for a wide range of tasks. I might be more competent for certain types of help but I'm ready to learn new skills anyway. And if it's just about having some manpower, i will fit the bill too.

    I'm currently studying human and social sciences (which can include sociology, anthropology, economy, political science, etc.). Even if it's not directly related to manual work, it might interest you in one way or another.
    As I'm still a student, I feel pretty much at ease with teaching things. I'm also used to deal with kids.
    I can give you a hand with your computer and office suite too.

    I can help you with artistic projetcs and whatever requiring a bit of creativity. I've already been organising small gigs and filming some short movies, I then have some experience with leading team projects.

    Concerning manual work, I do have a few knowledges about building things and general maintenance. I've already made concrete a few times, helped with sandpapering and painting...
    I can carry heavy stuff and deal with tasks like cutting and storing wood.

    I also have other abilities (fixing bikes for instance) so I'm sure I could find a way to be helpful.

  • Languages spoken

    French, English and a bit of Spanish

  • Age

    19

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Mild allergic reaction to pollen (especially grass pollen), mainly during spring.

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Taking a walk in the snow (and enjoying it).
Carrying firewood for the winter.
Hiking in the mountains of Ardèche.
Playing my bass guitar during my first gig.

Feedback