Stacy & Andrew

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Costa Rica

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/04/2019 - 19/06/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    April -May 2019
    Just completed a 3 week volunteer program at a surf camp in Tamarindo, Costa Rica. Completed the tasks of food prep for the nightly dinners for 30+ volunteers and staff, housekeeping and preparing the canvas yurt tents for incoming guests, and taking care of the raking of the grounds/common areas.

    We are originally from Florida (where we both graduated with bachelors from the University of South Florida) and have spent the last 7 years traveling cross country and living in different states and regions. After hiking the Appalachian Trail we moved to different locations throughout Colorado and Oregon. We would like to broaden our horizons and be immersed in different cultures, languages and lives.
    We have done everything from hiking trail construction, wild land fire fighting, general groundskeeper/lawn, pool maintenance, childcare at a ski resort (Stacy background checked), raft guiding, security guard (Drew background checked), kitchen/food prep, summer camp hiking guide, chainsaw crew, painting, snow removal, and general maintenance.
    We most recently resided in Durango, Colorado where we learned to white water raft, snowboard, and enjoyed summer days hiking in the Weminuche Wilderness and San Juan National Forest. In Durango, we are the overnight emergency on call caretakers of a secluded mountain resort. At this high altitude complex we also assist with the weekly events and weddings (setup, event help, cleanup). We absolutely love the outdoors and have spent most of the last 8 years working and recreating outside. We are both comfortable working outside in any condition. We have been able to road trip and see much of the United States and enjoy many of it’s National Parks and would love to see the natural beauty in other countries as well.
    We are both fun loving, adventurous, kind spirits who prioritize a close initimate relationship with the natural world around us.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project

  • What skills do you have?

    *️Gardening
    *️House & Pet Sitting
    *️Groundskeeper
    *️Trail construction/maintenance
    *️Childcare
    *️general labor
    *️chainsaw crew
    *️overnight emergency on call caretaker
    *️painting
    *️children’s hiking guide
    *️ pool maintenance
    *️snow removal
    *️wild land fire fighting
    *️ events and wedding setup/cleanup at a mountain resort
    *️ food/kitchen prep
    *️customer service
    *️housekeeping
    *️cashier
    *️former helpx volunteers at an organic farm in New Hampshire

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    28 & 28

  • Nationality

    American

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback