Craig & Krista

From: Spain & United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/01/2019 - 02/12/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    165

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Highly skilled and capable couple looking for a fair work exchange
    Our ideal placement would be medium to long term with our own accommodation a reasonable food budget and the possibility of extra hours paid work,also that is dog friendly.
    We are Craig and Krista, A highly experienced and very capable couple traveling around the uk and Europe.
    We will be travelling with our super friendly dog.
    Please read our feedback !
    We have a huge variety of skills and knowledge to offer!
    We have ourselves been workaway hosts for over 5 years now and understand what a host needs.
    You can view our host profile here: https://www.workaway.info/578479321142-en.html
    We have many great skills available,
    Also we have much experience in recycling old materials. We
    are very practical people and can turn our hand to almost anything. We are very useful to have around the house from home improvements, technical skills to gardening, building and cooking.
    We have a great appreciation of life, and really understand how hard and tough it can be. Our goal is to help people out who really need the help, We enjoy being involved in the day to day living and becoming a valued members to the host.
    We are very open minded, caring and compassionate and enjoy the company of others and get on great with children, We also enjoy photography and local history.
    We have been hosts since 2012 in our place in Spain and we have hosted many different people from all over the world. We have a garden where we have worked to develop an area of bio-diversity and plant life in a very dry environment. We have also grown organic veg and maintained and harvested almonds trees.
    We also built a straw-bale, sandbag house and fully renovated an old stone farm building with help from our volunteers. We also have experience volunteering through workaway, having done a few long-term placements.
    Craig is very handy and has skills in many areas and can pretty much turn his hand to anything. He loves working with wood, building custom made furniture and fitting out our van for travelling. He has experience with plumbing, plastering, electrical work, tiling , stud walls, flooring, stone walls and has general building skills. As well as working in tech for many years.
    I (Krista) am very crafty and always trying to evolve my crafts skills and I am proficient in decorating and labouring.
    I have also been practicing yoga for many years now and am an aspiring yoga teacher. I am always happy to find people to practice teaching yoga with. I also love to sketch, and paint and practice calligraphy.
    We both love nature and living in an environment where we are close to nature. We are down to earth and adaptable people with initiative. We are very keen to learn new skills and pass on skills we have acquired. We are not scared of hard work, or getting our hands dirty.
    Photos shows some of the projects we have done
    After reading our profile and you think that we are suitable, please get in touch.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Excellent practical abilities
    Problem solving
    Building with natural materials
    Solar installation
    Water conservation and management
    Electrical installation
    Plumbing
    Building and block work
    Working with natural stone.
    Tree pruning
    Landscaping and design
    Help with English language
    Computer technical skills
    Gardening
    Animal care

  • Languages spoken

    English, Basic French and Intermediate Spanish

  • Age

    45 & 30

  • Nationality

    Human/British

  • What else ...

    We are very capable and versatile and would appreciate a good experience in return for the skills we have available.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      Not Vegan

Photos

Subterranean house, made with 90% reclaimed materials and straw bales.
Built from reclaimed materials
Earthbag construction
Round house built from sandbags and clay
Working with natural stone
Kitchen table made from an old door and almond wood legs
Subterranean greenhouse
Garden and pond built from reclaimed materials
Table made from scrap wood
Underground water storage

Feedback