Christopher

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Indonesia, Japan, South Korea, Taiwan

  • ...

    Travel dates

    All times

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer

  • Description

    I was born at a very young age in New Mexico, USA. I went to college in Oregon and picked up a BS in physics and a BA in philosophy. Two different fields with compatible aims, making sense of the universe we live in. Upon graduation, my life can best be described as miscellaneous:

    3 years teaching English in northern Japan
    couchsurfed across Australia
    Backpacked around China climbing holy mountains
    Workawayed around west Europe (many crazy jobs!)
    Worked as a cabana boy in the mountains of Costa Rica
    Worked in the film industry in Oregon as a 'greensman'
    Volunteered for Habitat for Humanity and All Hands in Tohoku Japan (tsunami), Colorado USA (floods), New York USA (super-storm), and Trisuli Nepal (earthquake)

    After I have soaked up a fair amount of the world, Id like to settle down and become an educator.

    My three favorite activities include reading (philosophy, sci fi, poetry), athletics (basketball, badminton) and relaxing in nature (I like to listen, especially to rainfall and rivers)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    (Teaching) 3 years teaching English to Japanese students age 4 - 15
    2 years teaching physics to undergraduate students
    (Carpentry/painting) 4 years constructing and painting sets for university theater department
    productions. Also helped reconstruct houses destroyed by the 2011
    tsunami in Northeast Japan [Habitat for Humanity volunteer work]
    Rebuilt houses destroyed by the floods in Longmont, Colorado (All Hands)
    ---------- " ---------- by super-storm in Brooklyn, NY (All Hands)
    Rebuilt schools after earthquake in Nepal (All Hands)
    (Horticulture/landscaping) 6 years employed as a "greensman" for film union IATSE 488
    http://www.imdb.com/name/nm3108583/
    Spent the last half year working in the Bay of Plenty in environmental restoration.

  • Languages spoken

    English (native), Japanese (intermediate), German (beginner)

  • Age

    30

  • Nationality

    U.S.A

  • What else ...

    I'd like to help however I can!
    よろしくお願いします!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Photos

Lets go!

Feedback