Ashley

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    05/10/2018 - 01/03/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    106

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hi, thanks for checking out my page! I am originally from Toronto, Canada and spent many years living and working in London, U.K. Last year I moved to Bonavista, Newfoundland, Canada and renovated a 100 year old house. I am taking some time out to explore different opportunities and try new things. I've included some of my experience below but do let me know if you have any questions.

    I hope we will have a chance to meet and look forward to the opportunity.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    I worked in PR and communications for many years and am very capable with computers, Internet and office procedures. I am also social media savvy, I use Instagram, FB and Twitter, and have built websites using WordPress.

    I have organised many events including pub nights/crawls, tennis tournaments, sports days, Christmas parties, private dinners, road trips, media days, the list goes on!

    I am artistic and have designed many invitations, documents, posters, signs, banners, reports, and cards for work and I have painted murals and artwork at home.

    I renovated a 100 year old wooden framed house in Bonavista, Newfoundland. I project managed major building works and I even mucked in myself. I can panel a wall, lay a floor and rewire a lamp. I can paint, saw, hammer, and sand.

    While I renovated the house, I lived in a nearby hostel for 5 months becoming friends with many of the volunteers and travellers. It was a fantastic experience, I loved meeting people, hearing their stories and spending time together. I am still in touch with many of the new friends I made from that time.

    I can garden and prepared the ground for planting a raised veg garden and shrubs, checking soil health, mixing in fertiliser, cultivating, etc.

    I really enjoy cooking and can do a number of normal domestic chores like sewing, shopping, laundry, tidying, etc.

    Many moons ago I waited tables and even road managed a band in a tour bus across Canada. My mother hosted overseas English students so I am used to helping with conversational English.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    57

  • Nationality

    Canadian

  • What else ...

    I am personable, friendly, and experienced working with customers and clients.

    I am upbeat, positive and capable. I am curious and keen to explore, learn, and contribute. I do things to the best of my ability, I'm hardworking and innovative.

    I enjoy yoga, music, reading, swimming, cinema, cooking, walking, cycling, exploring, laughing and having fun. I hope we have a chance to meet!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I am celiac and follow a gluten free diet.

Photos

The house I renovated

Feedback