Alexa

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Iceland

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/09/2018 - 14/09/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi! I'm Alexa. I grew up in a small town in the Blue Ridge mountains of Virginia, where I developed a passion for gardening and mountain living. In 2015, I completed my bachelors degree in Sustainable Development and Appalachian Studies from Appalachian State University and moved to Asheville, North Carolina. I am now a full time touring musician, traveling around to perform original and traditional folk and Americana music. When I am not on the road, I like to spend my time gardening, knitting, learning an old time tune, teaching music lessons, and hiking and exploring the mountains surrounding my home in western NC.

    I am interested in learning about permaculture, animal husbandry, harvesting and preserving food, cheesemaking, winemaking, farm maintenance, and anything to do with homesteading.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Teaching music: I love to teach! Beginning guitar, piano, songwriting, or voice lessons. I have classical vocal training and studied opera and vocal performance in college before ultimately pursuing an education in environmental sciences. I have specifically taught songwriting and beginning guitar to children ages 6-14 at music camps, elementary schools, and through private lessons. But with that being said, I am always happy to teach beginners of any age! My oldest piano student is a grandmother :-)

    Cooking and Meal Prep/Planning: I love to cook meals at home with fresh vegetables and herbs from my garden and always try to source locally when using animal products. Some rituals I've learned to keep balance throughout my busy life on the road are making nutrient dense meals like a greens and nuts smoothie, root vegetable salads, or a batch of homemade granola. I also like to bake pies. What would life be without pie?

    I have a good amount of personal gardening experience and can help design a garden, hand-weeding, incorporate companion plants, or anything else you might need. Of course, I am always learning and am certainly no expert, but always happy to lend a helping hand and any skills I have learned!

    I can also help with cleaning the house and making sure the kids are safe and entertained. Most experienced with children ages 4 and up.

  • Age

    26

  • Nationality

    United States

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Gluten Free

Photos

Feedback