Abby

From: Netherlands

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    22/07/2018 - 31/07/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    172

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hi!
    I am Abby. I was born in the U.S., at the age of two we moved to Belgium. After just a few years we moved to the Netherlands, where I grew up. For my last year of High School I moved to Oregon, U.S.A. I graduated this year with Honors.

    I am looking for a new adventure during my gap year before I head off to Swansea University in September of 2019. I am going to study Osteopathy. I have already been accepted and have made arrangements to start.

    I have always had dogs growing up. I started riding horses at a young age and haven't stopped being around them since then. Please see "What else..." for a more detailed description :)

    People I have worked for describe me as mature, responsible, hardworking and great with their animals.

    Please let me know if you have any questions!

  • Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work

  • What skills do you have?

    *️️ Experienced with horses (general care, riding, lead on trail rides, etc)
    *️️ Experience with dogs and other animals
    *️️ Baking
    *️️ Painting (fences, walls, etc)
    *️ First Aid certified
    *️️ and more

  • Languages spoken

    English and Dutch, fluent in both

  • Age

    18

  • What else ...

    I have grown up surrounded by at least one dog, usually two. I have been involved with horses since the age of 8. I have boarded a horse at our house for two years, which taught me all about what is needed to keep them healthy and happy. I was responsible for all the care.

    When I was 15/16 I worked at a horse ranch for a few weeks during holidays. They offered horse camps and trailrides. I would get the horses out of the pasture and help customers grooming, tacking up, getting on etc. I have also been lead on trailrides to the beach, up to groups of 5 so far. I love doing this! I have done this with kids as young as 6 to adults. I have also been working at a horse rescue facility. I was mainly grooming the horses and making sure they were all well.

    Last year I started pet/housesitting. I've watched other peoples dogs, cats, horses and chickens. I would stay at their house for a number of days while they are out of town. Of course this comes with all the responsibilities associated with the animals. I have done this for numerous people so far and love it.

    At school I have helped out at numerous Track and Field meets, often finding it more enjoyable than competing. I also started snowboarding last year, because I wanted to learn a new skill. I also enjoy rafting, standup paddleboarding and waterskiing.

    In short, I have experience with a variety of animals, work well with others, am responsible and love learning!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian (but I do eat fish, happy to cook for myself if needed)

Photos

Feedback