Sarah

  • EUA
  • Entre para ver a última atividade

Informações do perfil

  • Informações de viagem

    Eu estou

    viajando

    Atividades em que tenho interesse:

    I will be in Spain until the end of December :)

    Meu próximo destino:

    Italy
    Ver tudo
  • Descrição

    Hi! I just graduated from Williams College in Massachusetts and am looking to spend some time traveling! I love learning about different cultures and exchanging life stories with new friends! I feel the most energized and fulfilled when I'm traveling, and tend to fall in love with every place I visit. In my free time, I enjoy singing, listening to music, eating good food, writing, drawing, taking photos, hiking, reading, knitting, all kinds of crafts, gardening, and working on projects that help impact people's lives.

    I grew up in an apartment building in New York City, on a floor with six families as my neighbors. As a little kid, I knocked on all of their doors, quickly making friends with each of them. Soon, all twenty of us were chatting in the hallway for hours, sharing big home-cooked meals at my apartment, and celebrating happy hour and holidays together. Growing up in a community of such lively, eclectic friends in the middle of a big city taught me the value of creating connections with people that could easily pass you by.

    Until now, I have been in school for my whole life, and so I'm eager to explore the world and take on all kinds of tasks! When I was sixteen I lived in Madrid for a few months, living with a wonderful family that welcomed me into their home and culture, showing me all around Spain. Since they didn't speak any English, my Spanish got quite good, and I helped them learn some English, too, so that by the end of my time there we could easily communicate. I knew then that what made me the happiest was getting to know new people and their cultures.

  • Interesses

    Naturaleza
    Fitness
    Yoga/bem-estar
    Atividades ao ar livre
    Caminhada
    Fazenda
    Jardinagem
    Animais
    Idiomas
    Arquitetura
    Arte e design
    Artes performáticas
    Desenho e pintura
    Faça você mesmo
    Escrever
    Livros
    Filmes e TV
    Música
    Criação de vídeos
    Fotografia

    mostrar mais
  • Habilidades e conhecimento para compartilhar ou aprender

    Tenho interesse em:  

    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Manutenção geral
    Trabalho beneficente
    Cuidar de animais

    Conhecimento de:  

    Projetos artísticos
    Ensino
    Jardinagem
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Hotelaria/turismo
    Ajuda com computadores/internet
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa

    Poso ensinar:  

    Prática de idiomas
  • Quais são suas habilidades?

    I have had past jobs in photography, farming, communications, talent booking, marketing, product design, reception, babysitting, and theater.

    I would be happy and able to help out with:
    - Caretaking (I have a lot of babysitting experience)
    - Teaching English
    - Gardening (I went to a farm every year growing up, and then worked on one for a summer, so I have some experience getting my hands dirty!)
    - Working with animals (I worked on an animal farm, collecting eggs, feeding pigs, herding cattle, etc.)
    - Arts and crafts (I went to a Waldorf school, which taught me how to sew, knit, draw, paint, and easily pick up and art projects)
    - Photography (One of my biggest passions! My photos have been published in the New York Times, Boston Globe, WBUR)
    - Marketing (I have had two internships in marketing--I learned a lot but decided I wasn't ready for a full time desk job quite yet. I am still happy to help with any marketing you would like!)
    - Website building
    - Cleaning
    - Cooking
    - Anything else you would like! I am a quick learner:)

    A couple of my past experiences:

    One of my favorite experiences was when I spent a summer working at a self-sustaining community for adults with special needs, which taught me how to meet personal and specific needs, and also how to work on a farm and help with the vegetable and herb garden. Living and working on a farm was one of the happiest experiences I've ever had. It was so wonderful to eat all organic food from the garden I worked in, and to get to share it with the twenty people who shared a house with me. After preparing large house meals, I sometimes had four hours of dishes to do, and even this I really enjoyed!

    I was a music and theater camp counselor for three summers, and a wilderness backpacking orientation leader for two years, which was such a great experience since it meant sharing a hobby and place I love with new students, while getting to know them, too.

    In college, I was the head of a cappella, and I managed eight singing groups on campus. I loved having a community to sing with! I created a website for my group (link to website: https://williamsaccidentals.webnode.com/), organized a singing tour to Canada, and arranged music for us to perform.

    I also have had experience with documentary work. I was able to combine my passion for photography with my academic major (sociology), creating photo journalism pieces about people with various interesting world-views, backgrounds, and experiences.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Intermediário
    Alemão: Iniciante
    Francês: Iniciante

    Mais detalhes sobre meu interesse em idiomas
    Learning languages cultivates connections across cultures, which is one of the most rewarding and important parts of life. I learned Spanish to be able to communicate with my older relatives, and it opened up a whole side of my family history that I wasn't able to access beforehand. I want to continue practicing Spanish and learn other languages too, so that I can broaden my communities. I would like to help people learn English because I think that it is a gift to be able to communicate with people outside of your culture, so helping people speak and understand English would be really rewarding. I also find teaching really fun and love seeing people improve their skills!

    Encontre um parceiro de estudo

  • Idade

    23

  • Mais algumas informações

    • Fumante

    • Carteira de motorista

    • Alergias

    • Dietas especiais

Comentário

Amigos

Fotos

Comentário