Rachel

  • EUA
  • Entre para ver a última atividade

Medalhas (2)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Informações do perfil

  • Informações de viagem

    Eu estou

    viajando

    Meu próximo destino:

    Burlington, VT, United States
    Ver tudo
  • Descrição

    Hi! I hope you are having a wonderful day, and I appreciate you taking the time to check out my profile.

    My name is Rachel, and I am a 22 year old Buffalo, NY native who loves all things related to the outdoors, lending a hand, and learning about how the world works. My curiosity, and passions for exploration and service have guided me throughout life thus far, and I am grateful to have had these ranging experiences. Since a very young age, I've always sought out opportunities that allow me to connect with new people, adventure in a new area, or reflect on the phenomenas behind how a system functions.

    I recently graduated this past December from the University at Buffalo with a Masters in Public Health, graduate certificate in Industrial Hygiene, and a national certification in health education. Locally, I serve as a volunteer EMT, Firefighter, and Ice/ Cold Water Rescue Technician, and love to plan blood drives (sometimes even for my birthday party). In my pre-COVID undergrad years, I minored in French which continued to fuel my travel itch. Living in one place my whole life has led to a long list of hiking, road tripping, backpacking, sightseeing, volunteering, and my friends constantly asking, "where did she go this time?". As a full-time college student taking classes year round, I was known to study like crazy during the beginning of the week, and drive off to check out new places for a long weekend. I've driven to 43 states, 20 capitals, and 14 national parks since getting a license, and I feel blessed to have seen the natural wonders, bustling cities, and amazing people I've experienced so far. I'm the friend who always wants to do something, and frequently bully my friends into taking backpacking trips, volunteering for service spring break trips, or learning a new skill.

    While rewarding, college was exhausting. With COVID shutting travel down, I took the opportunity to cram my academic program into a much shorter timeframe, ultimately leading to a large gap in my plans. I would love to take this time to learn from the world, share whatever I can offer, and connect with new minds - this time a little further away from home.

  • Interesses

    Montanhas
    Praia
    Naturaleza
    Camping
    Esportes de aventura
    Esportes aquáticos
    Esportes de inverno
    Fitness
    Yoga/bem-estar
    Ciclismo
    Atividades ao ar livre
    Caminhada
    Trabalho beneficente
    Fazenda
    Jardinagem
    Carpintaria
    Sustentabilidade
    Animais
    Mascotes
    Idiomas

    mostrar mais
  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Intermediário
    Sign language (American): Iniciante

    Mais detalhes sobre meu interesse em idiomas
    I minored in French during my undergrad, but am a little bit rusty with a pandemic break. I can read and write well, and hope to one day immerse myself in a French-speaking environment to solidify my conversational skills. I am currently taking American Sign Language classes, and will complete the first 2 courses by mid May. Any language would be fascinating to learn, and I am enthusiastic to learn more.

    Encontre um parceiro de estudo

  • Habilidades e conhecimento para compartilhar ou aprender

    Tenho interesse em:  

    Trabalho beneficente
    Projetos ambientais
    Cuidar de animais
    Vida na fazenda
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Hotelaria/turismo
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda com computadores/internet

    Conhecimento de:  

    Idiomas
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo

    Poso ensinar:  

    Ensino
  • Quais são suas habilidades?

    Through working with Habitat for Humanity, volunteering with the fire department, and overseeing a fire safety technician department at my university, I've gained a solid amount of hands-on tool-heavy work. I am always eager to learn something new, and will do so with a positive attitude.

    I have been boarding and taking care of pets since 2014, and love animals more than most people. After working in a day care in 2016, I've also loved to hang out with kids - working as a nanny and babysitter throughout high school and college. I try to convince myself that I can still be a kid at heart, so I really enjoy being able to coordinate new activities and adventures with the kids. Most recently, I cared for 3 boys under the age of 7 where sledding, rock climbing, snowball fights, fort-building, writing comic books, and ice skating were common activities.

    On a more technology-focused note, I have a strong background in podcast production, GIS, social media management, content creation, and program development. Throughout my studies, I served as a podcast production assistant/ show host for my school's health equity series, managed a violence-prevention agency's social media platforms, and developed a university wide database for safety inspections. I would love to utilize these skills in any way they can be of assistance.

  • Idade

    23

  • Algo mais...

    In my free time I flock to the outdoors, and enjoy trying something new. Hiking, cycling, backpacking, rock climbing, and skiing are my staples, but anything in the sun is appealing. I like to rollerblade, sky dive, swim, surf, practice yoga, juggle, play squash, and generally prefer to be moving around most of the time.

    When I'm not actively participating in an activity, I can be found listening to travel podcasts, looking up flights, planning a hike, trying out a new recipes, bingeing a good book, laughing with friends, or looking for the closest dog.

  • Mais algumas informações

    • Fumante

    • Carteira de motorista

    • Alergias
      eggs

    • Dietas especiais
      vegetarian (no fish)

Comentário

Amigos

Fotos

Comentário