Support our family during a busy time in the Ardennes, Belgium

Country

Bélgica

Favorito 4 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

    -

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    26/06/2022

 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We are an easy going Dutch family of four : Thomas and Esther with 2 sons, Arie, age 4 and Joes, age 1,5. During the summer holiday - july and august - we are looking for someone who can help us in our daily routine.
    We are working on our start-up, on the terrain where we live where in the future we will host a community building and a place for gatherings. We live here since this winter in our 2 trailers, preparing the land that will belong to us soon. We will always be close by (max 5 min walking distance), to work the land, renovate the building, or help out on the campsite next door.
    We will never both be occupied for hours in a row.
    One of us is always available, and we will always talk you through the week/day/hours yet to come, to make sure we all know the plans or expectations an you have the liberty to make your own plan in your hours off.

    Arie (4) is a happy little fella, who will often go outside to play with others. There are many friends around, since there is a campsite next to our terrain.
    The little one is a happy little one, who loves to cuddle and can play in the sandbox easily for an hour. He does 1 or 2 naps during the day, depending on how much effort he has put in his learning to walk.

    The most important is the attention and structure we can offer them together as a team, with you sharing our tasks for day care. By playing, building structures, move stones in the river, build dams, bake sand cake in the sandbox , read them a book, feeding them lunch or dinner.

    We have dinner at 18h. If you like to cook, it would be very helpful if you could prepare a meal once a week, or maybe just boil some greenbeens for the kids. But no hassle if this is not your thing. Other days Esther will be preparing dinner and we eat together.

    You will have your own little caravan to stay on our property.

    The terrain is next to the river L'Amblève, surrounded by nature on the foot of a hill of a small village. You enter the woods just at the end of the road. Also you can find only 2km away one of the most remarkable spots of the Ardennes, the Ninglinspo. Much more touristy but beautiful hikes and trails.

    Easiest with the kids is if you speak Dutch or French, but if you know you have the sensitivity to understand what people mean without the words then English or Spanish is a possibility as well (as long as we, as adults, can communicate with you).

    We are very happy when you are proactive and not afraid to ask questions.
    Besides playing and feeding them, there is also the tidy up and the dishes. It's the whole package.

    Furthermore, the next door campsite is a very vibrant and happy place. There are bonfires in the evening, and you can meet other people there for a drink.

    If you can stay 2 weeks or more, that would be our preference.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    You will benefit from a cultural exchange in multiple ways. You will experience life living outside; in our garden, on the terrain, on the campsite, at the river, in the woods.
    You will experience off-grid life in your caravan and a alternative live style with two little kids.

    You will be with two little boys from a Dutch family, see how we communicate, argue, live, love. You will learn about the structure kids need and how you can hold space for them without giving yourself away.
    You will hear about how it works to buy land in the Ardennes and how we will put the first seeds for community living.
    You are involved in family life, starting a new project on 2 hectares with a future restaurant, campsite and garden.

    Learn how to listen to the birds!
    Contact us when you feel a Yes after reading this, we are very excited to meet you.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    - play! attention is most important
    - giving structure to the day of the children
    - put the 1 year old to bed for naps
    - change diapers
    - providing lunch or dinner for the kids
    - providing dinner for the family maybe once a week
    - at som days putting the kids to bed at 19h
    - tiding up after the kids and dishes

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Holandês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Intermediário
    Francês: Intermediário
    Alemão: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    If you speak French this would be perfect for the kids, and for us to learn better. We can teach you Dutch and English.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    You will live in your own little caravan, with a bed, corner to sit with table, little stove.

    Here you will have breakfast. Lunch can be together, but on your day off you can decide when or where you want to eat. Dinner will be together (of course when you have a day off you can have your food at your own place if you want), we will ask you to cook once a week.
    There will also be days where we ask you to give the kids dinner, this will be simple meal such as boiled potato and green beans - mostly prepared by us in the afternoon. This is something we can discuss, in case you are OK by preparing it yourself then we can only say: yey!

    We do groceries once or twice a week, also for you.
    If you want or need to go to do some groceries/shopping for yourself, you are free to use our car.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    If you like to hike or cycling/biking you are at the right spot. There are several trails near our house.
    We know quiet spots where you can go to, but also there is a lot of tourism so there is much to see/do in the surroundings. From just outside the village you can take a public transport bus to Aywaille, or Stoumont.
    We have good bike on which you can explore. If you like to mountainbike, you can bring your own bike.
    There is the option to take our car when necessary.

    This is the first work-away we do as a host. Esther has volunteered in the past at a campsite and some other projects which were not via work-away. We travelled a lot and both were self-employed before we started this project.

    We do expect that you trust on your own handling and that you communicate well.
    When we are not at the house (but on the terrain) the kids can feel that you are the "parent" at that moment.
    We are open for new ideas and you doing it your own way, but of course we also understand if you are OK with just doing things as we do, both is just fine.

    Both boys are used to new people around them and there is enough space to let you join our little team :)
    Hope to meet you and maybe see you this summer.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Note: There is a decent wifi connection at the campsite next door, we would have to check is it reaches al the way to your caravan. 4G signal is good, so if you are ok with using your own data it is an option.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We will have space next to the little caravan where you can park your own mobile home, of course we do like to know the size etc.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Only if your pet is really Ok with kids, otherwise it is too much of a hassle that there is a dog that needs to be taken care of as well. We have a rabbit and there is a dog at the campsite next door.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 529761913966