Help at home and daily life in ultra-rural Alcoutim, Portugal

Country

Portugal

atualizado  

Favorito 203 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    29/11/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    80.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 1 dia

  • paid opportunity

    Anfitrião oferece remuneração

  • Medalhas

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hello!

    I'm looking for someone to help with housework, gardening, landscaping and if you have the skills, building, repairs and maintenance. If you are not sure if your skills are a good match, contact me and we can discuss.

    You would contribute 25 hours a week, which would mean 5 hours Monday to Friday, with Saturday and Sunday off. The work hours are 11-1, 2-4 and 4.30-5.30.

    In return you would receive accommodation in your own room in a traditional Portuguese house with all the essentials you need, food of your choice (to cook yourself), and internet access.

    There may be the possibility of additional work hours paid at 10 euros an hour, if there is a project that requires extra work. We would discuss this in advance of a placement being offered.

    The house is old, and because of its construction (traditional plaster work, bamboo ceilings) it is by nature a little dusty, so it's not suitable for someone with a dust allergy. Also there are animals here (a dog and a cat) so it may not be suitable for someone with an allergy to animals.

    This is a very quiet, rural area with few people, no shops, cafes etc so you would need to be sure that this environment would suit you. You could enjoy the peace of being in nature, with lots of space to relax, walk, ride a bike etc.

    You would be happy to abide by the house rules of not using a mobile phone, WiFi or Bluetooth on the property or close by the property (there is a bench in the village which works for making calls from), and not wearing perfumed products during your stay. (I have serious allergies to both of these). I will provide you with a cabled (ethernet) internet connection.

    You would take responsibility for your own physical and mental health. For example, bring enough of any medicines you take, as we are 17km from a chemist or doctor, and taxis there would be expensive. Think about your support network, for example friends you can talk to on Skype, or a counsellor, as you will not see many people here.

    You could stay short or long term, and we can work out a trial period to start with.

    The recruitment process is as follows:

    If it seems like a good fit, I would ask you to send your CV or resume, contact details, and also contact details for three referees.

    We would have two calls (on Zoom, Skype or Messenger - not Whatsapp), and finally I would need you to send me a copy of your passport before confirmation of the placement.

    If I can offer you a placement, there will be written agreement so that the terms are clear to both parties.

    ------

    I'm a published writer and a Buddhist nun. My ordained name is Parchin, so this is what I like to be called.

    I live in a semi-abandoned village in an extremely quiet area of Portugal, 45 minutes drive north of the Algarve coast, near the border with Spain. This place is very remote, far away from shops, towns and everything else. It's perfect for someone who wants to stop moving around and just enjoy peace and nature. It's a wonderful spot for walking, relaxing in the sun, writing and making art. If you are an artist or writer this could be a good opportunity. This situation would also suit someone who wants a place for meditation practice, yoga etc.

    I look forward to hearing from you!

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Prática de idiomas
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    You can learn about life in rural Portugal, in a small community where everyone knows each other.

    I can offer information/mentoring about writing, publishing, creative work, political activism, feminism and spiritual growth.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Skills needed:
    Cleaning
    Gardening
    Repairs and maintenance
    Landscaping
    Fencing

    You would need to be aware that I am allergic to chemicals so you might have to do some jobs in a different way than you have done them before.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Intermediário
    Português: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    I would like to improve my beginner's Portuguese. I can offer help with learning or improving English.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    You would have a nice room to yourself in a traditional Portuguese house with a bamboo ceiling to look up at when you're in bed.

    You will make your own food - we will buy/order everything you need according to your diet and preferences.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    I am flexible about hours and time off, as long as we make a plan for each week.

    I can pick you up from Vila Real de Santo Antonio or Castro Marim train station.

    There are many prehistoric sites in the area (and possibly more not yet uncovered!)

    From Alcoutim you can take the bus-boat to Spain and visit the village on the other side of the river, and see the castles on both sides.

    In Mertola has a castle, Roman city, old mosque, and great views of the Guadiana river in a deep gorge. Apparently there are also dragons.

    I hope to see you soon!

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    I can offer ethernet connection (wired connection) to the internet. I am electrosensitive and don't use wifi or mobile phones, and you would not be able to use these at the property. I can explain this more when we speak.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    I can discuss this with you.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    1

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    25 hours per week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.5)

Comunicação: (4.3)







Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 324753928474