Help in our eco-hostel and teaching sustainable practices to the local community in Bocas del Toro, Panamá

Country

Panamá

Favorito 80 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

    -

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    03/10/2022

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    My name is Abel, me and my wife Pamela, are a couple of entrepreneur and enthusiastic biologists. Born in Chiriquí, western Panama, are passionate for the nature and we frequently are doing expeditions in the jungles of Panama. We are the founders of a Foundation, an organization dedicated to the research and conservation of the Neotropical Biodiversity.

    I have a bachelor's degree in Zoology from the university of Chiriquí, master in science at Los Andes University, Bogotá, Colombia and PhD obtained in Germany. Currently we live in Dolega Chiriquí, and have properties in Boquete and Bocas del Toro Islands. We are preparing an eco-hostel in Bocas del Toro, Popa Island to receive guests.

    About the Eco Hostel:
    Location and How to get: The eco Hostel is located at Punta Laurel, Isla Popa (East part), Bocas del Toro, Our location is near to the Urraca Private Island () 1.7 km SE. To get there we use to departure from Punta Robalo dock (23 km SW), but our guests could come from there, David (Chiriquí) or Bocas (Colón) Island, we pick up you or arrange the arrival for you. The boat ride is between 45 min to 1 hr. The boat is small 23-25 feet long, but safe, and during the ride you will enjoy the landscape view!

    Status: it is at early stages, but we already have received two groups of guests. We have three cabins, and a main hut, with two floors and kitchen included. The kitchen is of common use. The cabins currently has no toilets inside, but in the near future two of them will. Cabins are almost open, covered with mesh in front, but one of them is completely open in front, all three have full bed. Volunteers and workers, will have a room in the second floor of the main hut, with bed and mosquitoes net. We have two games of toilets and showers, the toilets are dry toilets, and we recycle and compost the wastes. Toilets and showers are nice to visit, both are open and have a great view to the jungle.

    We are aimed to be environmentally friendly and we love to share with wild nature lover people!

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Hotelaria/turismo
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda com computadores/internet

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Cultural interchange is permanent, we are latin and in permanent contact with volunteers. Having time with David, our local gardener is always a learned, since is indigenous of the Ngäbe ethnie, always sharing his traditional knowledge. Around 5 to 10 min walking you will find Isla Tigre Village, a place with around 25 indigenous families, very friendly and happy to share time with foreigners.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Workawayers typically help 5 hours a day, 5 days a week, although there is some flexibility. We are especially interested to accept volunteers with skills to do trail marking and other areas, paint and sand wood, building the social media content (adept in social media/web experience, photographers/ videographers), DIY and building projects, mainly with ecological methods. You can help also in teaching sustainable practices to the local community.

  • Idiomas

    Espanhol: Fluente
    Inglês: Intermediário

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Workawayers stay in a full size matress with mosquitoe net on the second floor of the main hut. Blankets are available for Workawayers, but if you have your own gear that's even better!

    Workawayers should cook their own food. We will provide food (ej. vegetals, rice, eggs, fruits, beans, bread) meat or chicken sometimes are available.
    Electricity and internet are limited, we have a power generator, usually turned on between 19 to 22 hrs, and internet can be got with the Tigo or +movil Companies.

    The place is very nice, wild and comfortable if you love nature, we are bit away from the main island, and there is almos nothing around. The closest is the village of Isla Tigre, there are no discotects, restaurants or so, near by. But a lot of nature, we do not have a beach, but a beautiful mangrove area, and very close coral reefs, at about 500 m to 1km by canoe. We have a canoe and snorkeling equipement. The nearest beach is about 2 to 3 km away, and Zapatilla Island, half and hour by boat. There is a transportation that can pass to our property that can take you to Bocas island for 10 usd go and 10 usd back, going only on Monday, Wednesday, Friday and Saturday. In the property we are surrounded by forest, wildlife, David is our facility manager and he is ther permanently, at this time we use to go there about every 15 days. We are not open yet to the public, but sometimes we receive customers.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    In the property we have jungle trails, that can be visited during day or night time, wildlife is awesome, you can find, snakes, frogs, mammals, and lots of birds. Snorkeling is a must, we have a small boat that you can take and give a ride and find the coral reef of the caribbean sea. Near, there are other activities to do, swimm, go to the beach, monkey and sloth encounter, dolphin seeing, chocolat farm, Coconut family bussines, cultural tour, or walk to the Isla Tigre village and get connected with the indigenous people around that lives around our place; or just chill out, read a book, or hang out in hammocks. The place is quite, and surrounded by tropical forest, nothing else!

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 232326217429