Come and join our farming family just outside this beautiful small river town in central Queensland, Australia



Favorito 20 vezes

  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última atividade


  • facebook friends

    Nº de amigos no Facebook


  • Medalhas

    Facebook verified

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

  • Descrição


    We are a farming family of 4. Mum, Dad, 9yo daughter and 5yo son. We live in the beautiful Dawson Valley on the Dawson River. We are irrigation farmers and produce cotton. We also run two startup businesses from a home office. We are 5kms from town and the kids both take the bus to school everyday in the town of Theodore.
    There's lots to do on our farm that the whole family enjoys, kayaking on the dam, riding motorbikes, fishing and catching redclaw crayfish, bushwalks, mountain biking etc... We are also close enough to town that you can enjoy partaking in the local social life and community activities. We are near by to some of the largest mines in Australia and also some beautiful natural wonders such as Isla Gorge. Our neighbours have been apart of the workaway program for a long time and we always have so much fun meeting them. We would also like to welcome travellers into our family to share cultures and experiences.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We are a busy young Australian family that embrace the opportunity to share our way of life and learn from yours. We are active in the community so you will get to experience life in a small town in rural Australia. We live in an area of Australia that has beautiful gorges and is perfect for the person that likes outdoors, camping, fishing, hiking.
    There are also two neighbouring families that are also considering engaging an workaway volunteer so there is the possibility to travel with friends or meet new people travelling.
    We live on an irrigated cotton operation although cotton planting doesn't occur until September so current farm operations are maintenance, soil health and hay baling.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda


    Basically we just need an extra set of hands to help juggle our busy home when you can! You would be considered as part of our family and be available to help out with either the morning madness of getting ready and out the door for school and work or in the afternoon with school pickup and help with homework and getting ready for dinner. Once a month or sometime more often I will have to travel for work, this will increase the importance of having someone at home to get the kids off to school and be with them after school.

    Any help with some light household duties such as laundry or any cooking with the children would be amazing! It would be an absolute bonus if you had any gardening skills as we have a large lawn area and we are wanting to expand our garden and establish new garden beds etc.. in the near future.

    Our children are 5 and 9 and are into sports, footy, swimming, dance and our 8 year old is learning to play guitar. If you had any of those skills to teach them new musical instruments or sport that would be amazing and most welcome too! Being a rural town there is always a lack of services for any sports coaching or music lessons or music performers so if you have any talents in this are we are happy to help find you work and gigs/lessons outside our family too for some extra cash!

    Essential skills - drivers license, good english, neat and tidy, active, friendly and energetic, ability to cook and prepare meals.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação


    Accommodation is in a granny flat separate to the house that is large enough (4x9m) to house a family. It has a double bed, fold out sofa, wifi, air conditioning. The Bathroom is in the main house 5m from your door to the back door of the house and entrance to the laundry/bathroom.

    Meals will be included with the family. Basically our home is your home while you are here and we ask that you treat us as a member of your family and we will treat you as a member of yours. Our home is smoke free however we have no problem with smokers, we just ask that they smoke outside.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    This will be our first time having a volunteer workaway with us. However over the past 8 years (before our children started at school) we had full time Au Pairs. We thoroughly enjoyed having them as part of our family particularly those that embraced the experience and the community we live in.
    We live in a SMALL town - 500 people small!! So what we lack in coffee shops and chain stores we make up for in great community events, home entertaining, simple lifestyles with lots of simple pleasures and good friends. As our children are young most of our activities do revolve around family type sport activities or events. There aren't a lot of raves or nightclubs ;) but we will make sure we introduce you to locals and help facilitate some things you can do independent of us. We don't expect you to hand out with us all the time!
    Isla Gorge, Cracow Hotel, Dawson Mine, Dawson River, are all on our doorstep and you don't have to go far to be in Yeppoon, Rockhampton, Cania Gorge and more.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?


  • ...

    Horas previstas

    2-3 hours per day on week days. Opportunity for more if you would like but no obligation

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 231199599784