Rosario

  • Portugal
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Information du profil

  • Information de voyage

    Actuellement, je suis

    à la maison

    Ma prochaine destination :

    South Korea
    Voir tout
  • Description

    I’m Rosario Ramila Ramos, everyone calls me Ramila, I’m Portuguese and I’m 60 years old.
    My origins are from India (State of Goa which was Portuguese until 1961). Due to my father’s work I was born in Angola, and I’ve lived and studied in East Timor, Mozambique and Portugal. My appearance is Indian, but my mind and soul are Portuguese.
    I went to the University in Lisbon, where I graduated in languages and literature.
    Since 1982 I’ve been a teacher in different regions of Portugal.
    Between 1991 and 1993 I worked in Macao, teaching Portuguese to Chinese students, and in 1998 I worked in Johannesburg, teaching Portuguese to emmigrants’ children.
    During these periods I travelled as much as I could.
    When working in Portugal I prefer travelling, during the school holidays, to the so called “exotic” countries, because I find less tourists and can connect with the locals and enjoy lots of prístine nature.
    I am considered by my coworkers, family and friends as a resilient, trustful, organized, responsible and easy going person. However I get really annoyed with sistematically lazy and careless people.
    My “nomad” life made me a stronger, but also tougher person.
    After 38 years of teaching I got tired and realised I was “stupidifying", so I decided to spend a part of my savings and take some for myself. From September 2019 to February 2020 I enjoyed doing what I wanted. In February 2020 I went to Macao to help my niece and her ten-year-old daughter, during the Covid 19 peak, when schools were closed for 4 months. During this period of time I also taught Portuguese, for free and just for fun, to former Chinese students’ children (4), and it has been great.
    I can help with the house chores , take some care of children, teach them English and Portuguese, cultures included, and with the basic stuff of cooking.
    I’m not a sports fan but I love admiring others’ skills:) . My daily exercises are walking and yoga.
    As my first Workaway experience , I was in Iceland (Akureyri), in October and November 2020, helping with the house chores and the experience of livinf with an Icelandic family in a fjord, admiring the northern lights, feeling
    our beautiful and generous planet, with its unique “einkenni”:)
    In my next workaway experience I'd like to travel to South Korea. I'm a fan of the Korean series and cinema and I'd like to get to know these kind and polite people.
    In short, I feel blessed with my sixty-year-old life and, in spite of the inevitable ups and downs, my life has been easy, interesting and happy.
    I totally understand if the hosts think I’m too old to be a Workawayer:).

  • Compétences et connaissances que j'aimerais partager ou apprendre

    Ça m'intéresse :  

    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Accueil / tourisme
    Éco-projets

    J'ai des connaissances :  

    Aider à la maison

    Je peux apprendre aux autres :  

    Pratique des langues
    Enseignement
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    I do what is necessary, but I'm not an expert in anything, besides teaching.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Portugais: Courant
    Espagnol: Débutant

  • Âge

    61

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies
      No.

    • Régime alimentaire spécial
      No.

Feedback

Amis

Photos

Feedback