Sarah & Odhran

  • Irlande
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Information du profil

  • Information de voyage

    Actuellement, nous sommes

    en voyage

    Notre prochaine destination :

    Norway - du Jun 2022 au Sep 2022
    Voir tout
  • Description

    Update:
    We are currently booked up for workaways for March and April while in France. We are actively seeking opportunities for the summer in Norway.
    ______________________________

    We are an Irish couple in our late twenties, with a several years of working (Sarah) and a recent PhD (Odhrán) under our belts. We are on a trip around Europe in our self-converted campervan to spend some time away from our desks- living and working outdoors, meeting new people and seeing more of this beautiful planet.

    Sarah:

    I am an environmentalist, I'm passionate about nature and love spending time in the outdoors, especially near water. I'm a hobby vegetable grower, birdwatcher and native tree seed collector.

    I have plenty of experience working as a volunteer including on a nature reserve California, on a Community Supported Agriculture (CSA) farm in Ireland, as a water safety instructor, kayaking instructor, and with local tree planting and land restoration charity.

    I studied Environmental Science at University. Since graduating I have worked as an environmental researcher and consultant. My work has involved providing resource efficiency advice for small businesses and public engagement especially relating to food waste prevention. I was the lead researcher on a national project measuring food waste in Irish restaurants and supermarkets so have experience working in commercial kitchens (I was a kitchen porter with a clipboard). I also worked on the team studying commercial waste for national statistics so can say I'm willing to get my hards dirty (for this I was a bin rummager with a clip-board!).

    During university I worked as a beach lifeguard on some of Ireland's busiest beaches, a kayak instructor, a biology teaching assistant and an ecology field worker. While in school I worked as a swimming teacher, in a small surf rental business and as babysitter. I'm from a very touristy region and have plenty of experience helping out family and friends with preparing acommodation for summer rentals.

    I'm gregarious, and try to do most things with a smile. I love learning, getting stuck into a task (particularly detail focussed ones) and seeing it through.

    Odhrán:

    I am an earth scientist with a passion for music, crafts, culture and people. I have recently finished a PhD in Geology. I love food, the outdoors and working with my hands.

    I have a wide range of relevant experiences. While travelling, I hope to learn and share skills. I have lots of experience in carpentry, brick laying, and gardening. I have some experience with plumbing and plastering. In terms of agriculture, I set up and ran a small chicken and turkey business when I was 16. I sold eggs to my neighbours every week and turkeys at Christmas.

    I have some audio-visual experience and am love editing and processing footage and audio. I have worked as a kayak instructor (both whitewater and sea kayaking), a busser and kitchen porter in restaurants and a porter in a busy city hotel.

    I am a hard working, optimistic, problem solver who loves to get stuck into crafts and building projects.

  • Centres d’intérêt

    Montagne
    Plage
    Nature
    Camping
    Voile / bateau
    Sports d'aventure
    Sports nautiques
    Sports d’hiver
    Yoga / bien-être
    Activités en plein air
    Randonnée
    Vie en van
    Jardinage
    Menuiserie
    Dev. durable
    Langues
    Bricolage / artisanat
    Musique
    Technologie
    Cuisine et alimentation
  • Compétences et connaissances que nous aimerions partager ou apprendre

    Ça nous intéresse :  

    Aider dans une ferme
    Pratique des langues
    Enseignement
    Aider à la maison

    Nous avons des connaissances :  

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Éco-projets
    Accueil / tourisme
    Entretien général
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille

    Nous pouvons apprendre aux autres:  

    Aide informatique / Internet
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    We are both hardworking with good communication skills and excellent attention to detail.

    Building, woodworking and general DIY skills. Odhran in particular is a very competent DIYer. Sarah is an enthusiastic novice!

    Good IT skills. Sarah has experience managing websites and social media accounts for work. Odhran has experience managing websites, large datasets, editing photos, videos and music.

    Experience growing vegetables and volunteering on a vegetable farm. We established our own vegetable garden and polytunnel in our last long term home in Ireland.

    We have both worked with children. Sarah has lots of child minding experience and worked as a children's swimming teacher. Odhrán worked as a camp leader and kayaking instructor at a kids summer camp for several seasons both in Ireland and the United States of America.

    Odhrán has played guitar and lead vocals in a couple of bands and used to perform at events commercially. He still loves playing his guitar and singing and is open to teaching and sharing music with others. Sarah I slowly learning the guitar and tin whistle and also loves a good sing along.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Irish: Courant
    Français: Intermédiaire
    Allemand: Débutant

    Plus de détails sur les langues qui m'intéressent
    We are both native English speakers. Odhran has basic German. Sarah speaks good Irish (Gaeilge), some French and basic Spanish. She's always keen to learn more.

    Trouver un partenaire de langue

  • Âge

    28 & 29

  • Autres infos...

    We will be travelling in our self-converted VW Transporter campervan. It's not too big - fits in a normal car parking space.

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies

    • Régime alimentaire spécial
      Primarily vegetarian but not strictly.

Feedback


Amis

Photos

Feedback