Samantha

  • Canada
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (1)

Explorer

Information du profil

  • Mon statut

    en voyage

  • Description

    I was born and raised just outside of Vancouver, Canada where I lived for the first 25 years of my life. I studied pharmacy and graduated with a pharmacy technician degree shortly after high school, where I then worked as a full-time pharmacy tech whilst rotating between a variety of other part time jobs over the next few years. I had a very secure job and lifestyle, great relationships with both my friends and family and although I loved Canada, I was craving more. I wanted to push myself out of my comfort zone and with this I made the quick decision that I would travel to Europe and try to start a new life, away from everything and everyone I’d come to know. Just over two years ago, I made this plunge and moved by myself to Berlin, Germany – a place I had never been before, with no job, no house, knowing no one. The first few months were a struggle, but during this time I learned more about myself than all of my prior years combined. Berlin very quickly became home for me and I loved every minute of living in the city and being able to fully immerse myself in the German culture, food and people. I got to experience some travel around Europe as well – I truly felt that I was living my dream. After my two year visa was coming to an end, it was time for me to make a decision of where to go and what to do next. I knew I didn’t want to go back to Canada just yet, so I made the choice to come to Portugal, apply for a visa here and travel around to see where my experiences take me. I spent a month in Lisbon and now I am here in Lagos and it has been a paradise so far.
    That is my travel story, and now a more personal note, I will now give a better insight to who I am. I consider myself a very extroverted person and I really enjoy getting to know new people, hence why travelling alone has never been too much of an issue for me. Being active and healthy is important to me and I love the opportunities Portugal has for outdoor hiking, kayaking and water sports. I also do yoga and some meditation which has helped teach me discipline, patience and a deeper understanding of self. I have a massive passion for cooking and I love learning how to cook new cuisines, I am always up for a new challenge. For me, cooking is one of the ways I show love for those around me, because I think there is nothing better than sitting around a table with friends or family and sharing good conversation over good food. My creative outlets show itself in the form of writing poetry, journaling and some crafting such as macramé, but I would love to learn more about sewing, painting and crochet, to name a few. I am a very open and honest person and am hoping to find a workaway with like-minded people. I am a hard worker and would appreciate the opportunity to be able to help out wherever I can, in a positive and happy environment.

  • Centres d’intérêt

    Plage
    Nature
    Camping
    Fitness
    Yoga / bien-être
    Randonnée
    Bénévolat
    Dev. durable
    Animaux
    Musique
    Blogs
    Cuisine et alimentation
    Végétarien ou végan
    Dev. personnel
    Événements/vie sociale
  • Compétences et connaissances que j'aimerais partager ou apprendre

    Ça m'intéresse :  

    Éco-projets
    Travail associatif

    J'ai des connaissances :  

    Jardinage
    S’occuper des animaux
    Accueil / tourisme

    Je peux apprendre aux autres :  

    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Aider à la maison
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    Passion for cooking, would love to be able to help out around the kitchen and espeically would love to learn new cuisine or pick up new cooking skills.
    Simple gardening is something I enjoy as I love being surrounded by nature.
    I love animals, so the opportunity to be able to work directly with or around animals would be so incredible.
    I worked at a cleaning company part time in Berlin for quite some time, so I am able to help out with chores or cleaning tasks around the house.
    I have a younger sibling and my first job at 14 was babysitting, which was my main source of income for many years so I have a lot of experience with children of all ages.
    I dabble in photography and it is something I enjoy doing for fun, as well as writing and some social media experience, so I may be of some assistance in this manner.
    Although I may not require all of the skills needed, I am a hard worker and I am willing to expand my horizons and learn new skills where needed.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant

    Plus de détails sur les langues qui m'intéressent
    Although I lived in Berlin for two years, I was never able to afford the expensive classes offered. I have picked up some very basic conversational German but I would love to learn more about the language. Also, since I am planning to stay in Portugal for at least one year, I would love to learn some Portuguese. I have heard it is a very difficult language to learn, but I am really wanting to learn and embrace the challenge. Also, as English is my mother tongue, I am able to teach to the best of my abilities.

    Trouver un partenaire de langue

  • Âge

    29

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies

    • Régime alimentaire spécial
      fairly lactose intolerant and suffer with IBS but I wouldn't expect specialty cooking.

Amis

Photos

Feedback