William & Janet

  • Canada
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Amis (1)

Information du profil

  • Information de voyage

    Actuellement, nous sommes

    à la maison

    Notre prochaine destination :

    Iceland - du Mar 2022 au Jun 2022
    Voir tout
  • Description

    William -
    I enjoy travel and putting myself into new circumstances. My wife and I spent two years travelling mostly in Asia in our twenties and again for one year in 2000. That experience set the stage for a lifetime of desire to see new places and understand new cultures. We have three children, all grown and we have both retired, providing us with the time and desire to explore on our own again. That includes a desire to explore new places and cultures in depth, rather than simply passing through.
    I love cycle touring, and have cycled across Canada unsupported. I have taught English in Thailand, worked as a movie extra in the Phillipines, and cleaned rooms in a Japanese hostel.
    I love music and have played guitar most of my life.
    My working life was spent in social work, teaching for community college and conducting tours for Road Scholar.
    I am very even tempered, at ease in managing projects and helping people work together.

    Janet
    I have been passionate about travel and have visited over 40 countries. I love to get to know each country by experiences. After my career in social work, I began to do travel writing. Now that my husband and I are retired we want to travel in a way that gives us more depth of understanding about where we are travelling. We love to try new experiences. I am interested in food history/travel and have a blog about that subject www.diningoutwithhistory.com I am currently writing a book about that topic. I am interested in photography and trying many new experiences and meeting new people.

  • Centres d’intérêt

    Montagne
    Nature
    Camping
    Voile / bateau
    Sports d'aventure
    Sports nautiques
    Sports d’hiver
    Yoga / bien-être
    Cyclisme
    Activités en plein air
    Randonnée
    Vie en van
    Bénévolat
    Ferme
    Jardinage
    Art et design
    Bricolage / artisanat
    Écriture
    Livres
    Musique

    montrer plus
  • Compétences et connaissances que nous aimerions partager ou apprendre

    Ça nous intéresse :  

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Tenir compagnie à une pers. âgée
    Aider dans une ferme
    Accueil / tourisme
    Entretien général

    Nous avons des connaissances :  

    Pratique des langues
    Aider à la maison

    Nous pouvons apprendre aux autres:  

    Enseignement
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    William
    I have played music (guitar) for most of my life and have a love for most types of music.
    I have a keen interest in cycling and have been on many unsupported cycling trips both in Canada and the U.S. I have lead a cycle tour in Prince Edward Island in Canada's Maritimes. I rode my bike across Canada.
    I have lead tours in the Maritimes for Road Scholar, including a train journey across Canada.
    I have taught English as a second language in Thailand.
    I have completed many canoe trips in Ontario.
    I am very interested in history and have travelled to many sites of the U.S, civil war.
    I have taught at the community college level for two different colleges.
    I have many years of middle management experience in a counselling agency. I have worked extensively with people with developmental disabilities.

    Janet
    I love cooking and food history. I write a blog and also have been a travel writer for publications.
    Photography
    I enjoy working with children and animals.
    I love many outdoor activities.
    I enjoy photography and art.
    I enjoy travel and learning about new cultures and countries.
    I enjoy learning new skills.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Débutant

    Plus de détails sur les langues qui m'intéressent
    I am interested in learning new languages and can teach English as a second language.

    Trouver un partenaire de langue

  • Âge

    70 & 70

  • Autres infos...

    William
    I enjoy playing chess.
    I like reading, talking about politics.
    I love reading novels and belong to a book club.
    I enjoy hiking, kayaking, cycling, nordic skiing.
    I enjoy creative writing.
    Janet
    I enjoy cooking, writing, photography, learning new skills, being outdoors, working with children and animals, working with people, travel more than anything.

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies
      Janet is allergic to penicillin

    • Régime alimentaire spécial
      No

Amis

Feedback

Ce workawayer n’a toujours pas reçu de feedback.