Nicole & Loran

Origine: États-Unis & Pays-Bas

  • ...

    Type de compte

    Compte joint

  • ...

    Destinations

    États-Unis

  • ...

    Dates de voyage

    01.06.2020 - 28.07.2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Notre statut

    en voyage

  • Description

    Hello, we are Nicole and Loran, Nicole was born and raised in Los Angeles, California, Loran comes from Amsterdam, where they've met and fell in love. Currently Nicole is living in Los Angeles again, but she was living in the Netherlands for the last 9 years, 5 years of which we lived together.

    Nicole is a therapist and had her own private practice working with the international/expat community in the The Hague, in the Netherlands. I loved having a practice in such a diverse place, as I had clients from at least 40 different countries. I have maintained a small practice online with some of my clients back in the Netherlands, however, I am currently exploring new ways of life as I have been feeling increasingly discontent with my many years of living the city life. In my work as a therapist, I have begun exploring more body/mind/spiritual approaches. I feel that in order to develop myself further in these practices, I need to spend time re-connecting with my body and spiritual self. I cannot think of a better way to do this than to be in nature and work with plants, animals, etc. I also realised that I haven't seen much of California and I am really craving being in nature and learning how to be more self-sustainable, especially with food, I thought doing workaway could be an excellent way to try out a new way of being.

    Loran is a pianist and professor at the Conservatory of Rotterdam and currently still living in Amsterdam and is in the process of emigrating to the USA. I absolutely love my job but I am more and more convinced that I want to be in and around nature as much as I can and I am ready for a new challenge. I always loved gardening, cooking, building/making things; basically everything that involved using my hands and creativity. I feel this is the perfect place to keep on learning and meeting amazing like-minded souls.

    Our ultimate goal is to buy a piece of land, build cob houses and have a permaculture garden. We figured that we need to try this style of living, before we dive fully into it so we're also super eager to learn, it's probably one of our favourite things to do!

    In our free time, we love to cook, garden (on our tiny patio), do yoga and qi gong, meditate, be with our cats (or any animals), read and learn, and organize (I (Nicole) really enjoy organizing a space and making it feel beautiful and clutter free).

  • Compétences et connaissances que nous aimerions partager ou apprendre

    Ça nous intéresse :  

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aider dans une ferme
    Éco-projets

    Nous avons des connaissances :  

    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    S’occuper des animaux
    Accueil / tourisme
    Travail associatif
    Enseignement

    Nous pouvons apprendre aux autres:  

    Aider à la maison
    Aide informatique / Internet
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    We loooove to cook all types of food, but our two favorites to make are Mexican and Japanese. We really enjoy looking up recipes and making new things. we spend a lot of time thinking about food and how to create amazing meals, but we also very much enjoy the comfort and simplicity of meals like roasted veggies out of the oven.
    I believe due to my profession and partially what drew me to my profession is my ability to communicate and talk with anyone. I really enjoying listening to people and hearing their stories. I'm extremely empathic and sensitive, which can sometimes be hard to navigate as we live in a world that doesn't cater much to these qualities, but I believe I am more and more learning how to make the most out of these skills.
    I also love to learn and I'm always eager to be learning new things. I read a lot, and although this is great, I'm at a point in my life where I want to start learning more practical skills instead of analytical skills. I use my brain a lot, and I want to start using my body more.
    I'm excellent with animals. I've had a range of animals growing up from cats and dogs to turtles and snakes. I love them all and feel that I'm good at reading them, respecting them and understanding what they like and don't like.
    I really enjoy and am good at organizing and cleaning. I got a lot of joy out of seeing a task completed and it always makes me (and others) feel good to make a space more tidy and beautiful.
    I love to make people laugh and I use a lot of humor in my therapy work. I think laughter is so important in life and I'm pretty good at giving people a laugh.

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant
    French: Courant
    Dutch: Courant

  • Âge

    30 & 32

  • Autres infos...

    Although I have never done something like work away before, I believe it will be a great opportunity to learn new skills and to further explore if this kind of lifestyle is for me, as well as getting the opportunity to help people accomplish their dreams and goals.

    I have felt for a long time now that something is missing in my life - that a big part of me is not being fulfilled and living up to my potential of what I can do and learn in this world. I am so very grateful for the education I have received and the work that I do. To able to have a profession that constantly allows me and expects me to grow, look deeply within myself and learn about who I am has been an amazing gift, but I know there is more out there than this. I am longing to re-connect with nature, animals, the earth and my spirituality. It's something I think about every day.

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies

    • Régime alimentaire spécial

Photos

Feedback