Fernanda & Fernando

Origine: Australie

  • ...

    Type de compte

    Compte joint

  • ...

    Destinations

    Fidji, Micronésie, Nouvelle-Calédonie, Nouvelle-Zélande, Papouasie-Nouvelle-Guinée, Polynésie française, Portugal, Samoa, Tonga, Vanuatu, Îles Cocos, Îles Cook, Îles Salomon

  • ...

    Dates de voyage

    15.07.2019 - 06.12.2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    1694

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    A little bit of Fernanda's background:
    I am a 23 years old from Brazil, but have been living in Australia for the past 2 years.
    Back in Brazil I went to architecture university and during the uni I did a 2 years internship at a interior design office. After that I started studying about natural techniques of building, fell in love with it and I started looking for a course as my uni did not talk about it a lot. I found a eco village called Aldeia Outro Mundo not so far from my city and it was there where I did my first permaculture course focused on building techniques.
    We learned how to use bamboo, soil, eucalyptus and mud on different techniques to build the houses of the eco village. The owners of the eco village were also owners of a alternative culture festival called Mundo de Oz festival, where I worked as well. There I worked as a builder, did a lot of decor and I was one of the photographers of the festival’s crew.
    As a builder I used to help building the stages and all the other structures like chill out area, kids area etc, using bamboo and soil techniques. For the decoration I used to make dream catchers, tai dai clothes and tents and also helped with the lights.
    This experience helped me to find out that I like better working with my hands than working with a computer, that I prefer to be outside than in a office and that I really love to capture the moments I am living by taking pictures.
    After this crazy year involved with the eco village and the festival I felt like changing my life again and decided to come to Australia. The focus was to stay in Sydney and study photography. I ended up not just studying it but doing it while I traveled around Australia, New Zealand and Asia.

    A little bit of Fernando's background:
    I am 28 years old, also from Brazil and also have been living in Australia for the past 3 years. I am a kind of guy who is always open to new experiences and life changes, guess I got that from my parents because since I am really young they have been moving around and changing jobs so life does not get boring. Since I am 14 years old I have been working in different areas and learning to do heaps of different jobs. I started working with my parents when I was 14 years old as a carpenter apprentice, after that I worked as a manager of my parents's a decoration store for 2 years. Later on when I turned 22 I decided to have my own business and as I love cooking I opened a small food business where he was the owner, manager and also helped the head chef in the kitchen. Few years later I sold the restaurant and made a partnership with my father to open a hotel by the beach where I worked as a manager. 3 years went by and I needed a new experience again so I decided to sell my part of the hotel and come to Australia to learn english and have a completely different experience. Here in Australia I had many different jobs, I worked as a chef in a seafood restaurant, as a removalist, as a labor and as a scaffolder . When I first got here I went to this crazy adventure to help building the ferry that goes from Melbourne to Tasmania and back. I spent 2 months on board working everyday with no days off, met a lot of people from all around the world and the ferry turned up to be fantastic. I am happy to say that I was part of this. Now a days I still working at the company I used to work as a scaffolder but now I take care of the different building sites instead of working in only one.

    We as a couple:
    Just like our names we are very similar. We love to be outside, to travel, to meet new people and to learn about different cultures. Guess that's the point of all of our trips.
    During the week both of us work a lot but on weekends we are always looking for new adventures such as diving, rock climbing, going camping and exploring new places.
    Recently we have been looking for a completely different experience of traveling, where we could help other people doing volunteering work and at the same time go to a place we have never been before. A friend of ours told us about workaway and that was a match straight away. Now we are very excited to start our new adventure and hope we can work with you!

  • Type d'aide

    Jardinage
    Construction
    Cuisine / courses
    Aide à la ferme
    Eco-volontariat
    Aide avec les animaux
    Tourisme
    Projet artistique

  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    photography, natural building, social media marketing, decoration, cooking, computer skills, cleaning, laboring, swimming, diving, carpentry, painting

  • Langues parlées

    portuguese, english and a bit of spanish

  • Âge

    25 & 30

  • Nationalité

    brazilian

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies
      fernanda- penicillin

    • Régime alimentaire spécial
      vegetarian

Photos

Feedback