Deborah

  • États-Unis
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (3)

Good Workawayer
Facebook verified

Information du profil

  • Mon statut

    à la maison

  • Description

    Hello!
    Deb here, from San Francisco, CA, where I have lived most of my adult life.
    **FULLY vaccinated - received two doses of the Pfizer vaccine as of 4 February, 2021, so should be able to travel as planned starting in June, 2021**
    Through years of living in this city, I furthered my love for culture and the Arts. I believe creative expression is the heartbeat of any healthy community, and am dedicated to preserving that sort of existence within the communities where I live and visit. Presently, I'm a marketing contractor writing for a healthcare organization - to earn a living. But because I've been involved with the art scene in San Francisco for many years, I'm also involved in organizing and producing local events.
    Part of the impetus for my finally getting to Europe was to be able to learn more about how the rest of the world is innovating for the future. Through sharing knowledge and experiences with the people I meet, I hope to be able to expand what I can add to our global, peaceable and inspirational existence. :) Getting TEFL Certified was something I decided to do after traveling because it's clear that sharing my love of communication through the English language is a gift I can add.
    I've been a part of workaway for over two years now, and have spent time during the journey in 7 countries: Holland, Belgium, Czech Republic, Italy, Spain, Poland and Germany. I have enjoyed getting to work in creative and communicative environments just as much - if not more - than leisure traveling, because it has afforded me the greatest sense of cultural integration along the way. Looking forward to doing more!
    I'm open to doing all kinds of jobs - kitchen/cafe help (as I did at a sculpture garden in July 2018), help with ecological projects, painting, writing, teaching - or anything with people and/or the environment. I love my life and look forward to meeting people who feel the same! Success to me means being good to humanity, so it's important to me to cultivate friendships and support strong communities. I make finding happiness a priority, and strongly believe that creativity & imagination are just as important as logic & reality.

  • Centres d’intérêt

    Plage
    Voile / bateau
    Activités en plein air
    Dev. durable
    Animaux de compagnie
    Architecture
    Art et design
    Arts du spectacle
    Bricolage / artisanat
    Écriture
    Blogs
    Astronomie
    Cuisine et alimentation
    Politique/justice sociale
    Culture
    Événements/vie sociale
  • Compétences et connaissances que j'aimerais partager ou apprendre

    J'ai des connaissances :  

    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Éco-projets
    S’occuper des animaux
    Accueil / tourisme
    Projets artistiques

    Je peux apprendre aux autres :  

    Pratique des langues
    Aide informatique / Internet
    Enseignement
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    Teaching: TEFL Certified as of January 2019, and taught for 5 weeks in Poland during March & April before continuing my travels. I have experience teaching grade school level ESL students here in the states as well. Skilled in Creative Arts, Hospitality (serving food & drinks) light building, cooking, painting and would love to learn more about restoration. As mentioned, marketing & social media for creative projects is what I do at home, so happy to lend that skill if needed... and I love to learn! If you have the patience to teach me, I'm quick to catch on and eager to help.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Débutant

    Plus de détails sur les langues qui m'intéressent
    Ce workawayer a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa ou ses propre(s) langue(s) ou en apprendre une nouvelle. Veuillez le contacter directement pour en discuter.

    Trouver un partenaire de langue

  • Âge

    48

  • Autres infos...

    A quick rundown on my more professional background: I've got a BA in Social Work and have worked as a teacher, project manager, catering assistant, home staging assistant, and event production assistant (life is too short to do only one thing!), amongst some other odds & ends. My funnest job has been managing a circus in SF! I get along well with all sorts of people and communities, and have several references that I can provide. I'm interested in learning more about the ways in which my hosts/host families live within their communities and perhaps bring new and innovative ideas back to the states when I return. Thank you for reading!

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies
      no

    • Régime alimentaire spécial
      no - part of traveling is trying the local cuisine! :)

Feedback


Amis

Photos

Feedback