Iva & Veronika

Origine: République Tchèque

  • ...

    Type de compte

    Compte joint

  • ...

    Destinations

    Allemagne, Autriche, Danemark, Espagne, Irlande, Islande, Italie, Portugal, Royaume-Uni, Serbie, Suède

  • ...

    Dates de voyage

    30.06.2019 - 14.09.2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    197

  • Badges

    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Who are we?
    We are Iva (20 y. o.) and Veronika (19 y. o.) - a couple of university students, best friends… you name it. We are friendly, cheerful, ambitious, hard-working and adventurous people, who enjoy getting out of their comfort zone in order to get to know the world and its people and to learn something new. We are eager to learn not only to better understand the world languages (we are both a higher B2 on the CEFR scale in English and speak some very basic Spanish), but also to learn whatever your craft is. Milking cows, building constructions, painting fences, helping your customers, teaching kids or running a B&B… we want to do all of it.

    Where are we from?
    We both come from a sunny little part of Czechia called South Moravia mostly known for its vineyards and beautiful countryside. Iva is from a small town and I (Veronika) am from a nearby village. As countryside born people, we’re used to working manually – I even live in an old water mill with lots of fields around and a huge garden, so I have been landing a hand my parents since I can remember. Both of us also had a number of part-time jobs - I worked as a fruit picker, did some odd jobs in an office, worked in a local grocery shop, Iva worked in a garden centre, as a pizza driver, as a cashier in Tesco and as a waitress in a café.

    What do we enjoy doing in our free time?
    Apart from being used to gardening and general maintenance, we obviously enjoy a couple of other things, too. Iva is studying Applied Computer Science, therefore she enjoys programming and she’s also a big fan of TV series (which is yet another thing we have in common). I'm studying Journalism and International relations, so I spend most of my time writing articles and doing research, and I also work as a PR manager for an NGO focusing on education and active citizenship. We have some pets that we take care of, too. Iva has two geckos and I take care of my two dogs. We are both quite active when it comes to local events – we have organised a screening of a documentary in a local library for the elderly people and tried to raise awareness about the poor conditions some of them have to face. We also organised our prom and several educational projects, which gave us a lot of experience in team and project management and dealing with stressful situations. Other than that, as I said, we love learning new things, so we sometimes visit workshops to learn a certain skill/gain new knowledge.

    What about travelling?
    We LOVE travelling. I’ve been to a couple of countries with my family, Iva’s travelled a bit more than me because her parents love it as much as she does. In 2017, we were travelling together and we visited Slovakia and last year after we graduated, we packed our bags and set off on an epic adventure. We flew to London, then hitchhiked all the way to Edinburgh. Along the way, we had stayed with and met many amazing people through not only hitchhiking but also Couchsurfing. Then, we had our first ever experience with Workaway, when we stayed for three weeks near Helensburgh with our lovely hosts Janice and Jimmy (https://www.workaway.info/515481725779-en.html).

    Our Workaway experience
    During the three weeks we stayed with Janice and Jimmy, we were able to experience many different jobs and tasks - general gardening, taking care of their formal garden, collecting wood, cleaning of the Airbnb apartment, cooking, baking, walking the dog, repairing their henhouse, laundry... We had a very good time with the family and really felt like a part of it, mainly because we would always dine together and we spent some time with them every other day after dinner. We really appreciated the time flexibility they gave us and in exchange, we never had any problem with doing additional tasks such as cooking the dinner or looking after the dog (or baking a cake! ;) ). We had the best time and we hope we will find somebody as great as them this year as well!

  • Type d'aide

    Jardinage
    Baby-sitting / garde d’enfant
    Entretien / Bricolage
    Cuisine / courses
    Aide à la ferme
    Autres
    Eco-volontariat
    Aide à la maison
    Aide avec les animaux
    Tourisme
    Travail associatif
    Aide avec les langues
    Aide informatique / Internet
    Enseignement

  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    Gardening - we both have a plenty of experience with it. We grow our own vegetables and we have a couple of fruit trees at home, so we have no problem with anything connected to taking care of a garden. Even not so common tasks as planting a tree or cutting wood is OK with us.

    Farming, animal care - we both have pets, so we are used to the daily routine of giving them food, taking them for a walk and taking care of their surroundings. We do not have any experience with animals such as cows, pigs, sheep or horses, but we are happy to learn from you.

    Help with computers, writing, PR - if you'd need some help with writing some short texts or presenting your farm/hostel on social media or your website, we could help you with that as well. I have a Canon 650D, so I can take some nice pictures for you.

    Helping with Tourists - we are open-minded, communicative and we like getting to meet new people, therefore helping with tourists would only be a pleasure for us. English is not an issue, we can communicate great.

    Help in the house, general maintenance - helping in the house and general maintenance is something we both can do pretty easily.

    Cooking, shopping - we both spend a lot of time in the kitchen, as we cook our lunches every other day. We would be happy to cook for you sometimes, maybe even show you some Czech dishes. We can do soups, main courses and even desserts. We have no problem with cooking vegetarian/vegan food, in fact, we would actually prefer it, but we don't mind eating meat, too.

    What is important to mention, is that if there's anything we don't know and you'd want us to do, we are happy to learn and we usually learn quite quickly, so we believe there will not be any issue that we couldn't handle with a bit of your help. After all, it's all about sharing, right?

  • Langues parlées

    Czech, English, Slovak, basic Spanish

  • Âge

    20 & 19

  • Nationalité

    Czech

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies

    • Régime alimentaire spécial

Photos

Veronika on the Isle of Arran - a trip we took during our previous workaway experience
Iva in her home town in South Moravia, Czechia
We took this photo in Newcastle, when we hitchhiked to Edinburgh. Our lovely couchsurfing host and her boyfriend took us to see the beach.
Us backpacking in Arran!
Repairing a henhouse during our last workaway - loved this one!
And this one is on the outskirts of London, hitchiking our way up north

Feedback

Offrez Workaway en cadeau pour Noël
en savoir plus