Charlie

  • États-Unis
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Information du profil

  • Information de voyage

    Actuellement, je suis

    en voyage

  • Description

    A former bartender and chef (maybe will be again one day), I’m taking some time to tour this vast country, make connections with people and nature, and learn new skills. Mostly I’m drawn to farming— permaculture and other biodynamic farming practices, raising (and possibly hunting) animals for meat and/or dairy. I’ve totally fallen in love with dairy goats this last year and would happily spend more time working with a herd.

    I’m also very eager to learn some handy skills, building and repairing structures, carpentry, anything involving most tools. Other interests I have are eco-village/community life, trail building and maintenance, continued work in the service and hospitality industry.

    I’ve stayed on a handful of farms so far (not all through Workaway) and it’s been so rewarding to help out my hosts while also reaping the benefits of meeting new people, seeing new places, and learning new things. I’m excited for more!

  • Centres d’intérêt

    Camping
    Yoga / bien-être
    Activités en plein air
    Randonnée
    Ferme
    Jardinage
    Menuiserie
    Dev. durable
    Animaux
    Bricolage / artisanat
    Écriture
    Cuisine et alimentation
    Culture
    Dev. personnel
    Soin des plantes
  • Compétences et connaissances que j'aimerais partager ou apprendre

    Ça m'intéresse :  

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Éco-projets
    Travail associatif

    J'ai des connaissances :  

    Jardinage
    Aider dans une ferme
    S’occuper des animaux
    Projets artistiques
    Enseignement

    Je peux apprendre aux autres :  

    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Aider à la maison
    Accueil / tourisme
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    Since last year, I’ve been staying on farms tending to animals, milking goats, making cheese, planting and harvesting vegetables. I’m fully capable of digging holes, moving rocks, splitting firewood, mucking barns, and helping with other laborious chores that require physical energy over skill. I could help with walking paths and trail maintenance. I can paint walls and such pretty well. I am very good with babies and comfortable and engaging around older children. I’ve been practicing yoga long enough that I can help you with your practice.

    The bulk of my skills are in the kitchen — and I can do a lot! As a believer in Slow Food, I enjoy tackling long-term projects like fermenting and drying, learning and utilizing traditional preparations, and using what’s in season. I’m a professionally trained cook who is nutritionally-focused and I have been moonlighting as a private chef and caterer for years. I absolutely love to teach others who get excited about food like I do and I also enjoy cooking for those who just don’t have the time or desire — we don’t all have to love cooking. Herbalism is a hobby of mine and I’ve made medicinal salves, personal care products, tinctures and bitters.

    In my extensive experience working in the restaurant industry, I developed professional-level hospitality skills and would be quite helpful in a B&B, retreat center, or hostel-type of place. I am detail-oriented, well-organized, learn quickly and follow directions well.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Allemand: Débutant

    Plus de détails sur les langues qui m'intéressent
    I’d be happy to help with English practice and would like to refresh my rusty German.

    Trouver un partenaire de langue

  • Âge

    40

  • Autres infos...

    I would really, really like to learn some carpentry and other handyperson skills so I can become a more useful workawayer (and for my future as a small farmer) but I understand that teaching take extra time and energy. It is my hope that perhaps there will be times after my regular workday is complete that I can learn a few things from my hosts in exchange for cooking meals or childcare or running errands or whatever else is helpful.

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies

    • Régime alimentaire spécial
      I like being able to cook for myself (and others!) regularly. I much prefer real, whole foods, especially vegetables.

Feedback

Amis

Photos

Feedback