• États-Unis
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (2)

Top Workawayer

Amis (1)

Information du profil

  • Information de voyage

    Actuellement, je suis

    en voyage

    Les activités qui m'intéressent :

    I am headed to Peru in late March, hoping to do a lot of backpacking and meeting other travelers!

    Ma prochaine destination :

    Peru - du Avr 2022 au Jun 2022
    Voir tout
  • Description

    I love the outdoors—from sports like kitesurfing, backpacking and climbing, to just laying on the grass or beach and reading a book.

    My main goal when I quit my job in July of 2020 was to dedicate myself to exploring different lifestyles and different ways to contribute to the world, and thus learn about the world and myself in the process. When I started my travels the areas I definitely wanted to explore were:

    -Farm life
    -Humanitarian aid
    -Working with animals

    Since then, I have spent 6 months in Ecuador, 6 months in Colombia, and a few months with family. During this time I had two experiences teaching English and three experiences living and working on farms- one finca in the rainforest, one dog rescue ranch in the mountains, and one goat farm. Each volunteer position I did for 1 - 3 months.

    Then, I focused on humanitarian aid. I took a pause in traveling to work for an NGO on the Colombia/Venezuela border for 4 months. I began as a volunteer, but I found the work there to be so incredibly important and fulfilling, I came back for an extra 3 months as a Coordinator. But now it is time to know another country and lifestyle.

    The next skill I want to develop, and my new passion, is a sport I discovered during my travels- kitesurfing! I did the basic kite course in Cabo de la Vela, Colombia, and then improved my riding in Costa Rica while working at a kite resort for 5 weeks. Now, I am in Paracas, Peru, volunteering at a kite school here, helping out in the office and on the beach. I'm hoping to continue finding volunteer and work opportunities in kiting to keep learning, improving, and being involved in the kite community!

    I also have a love of learning. Over the past year I learned Spanish fluently and am now studying Portuguese, and am hoping to find a Workaway position where I can continue to practice and develop my skills with both languages. I also love learning through meeting people with different backgrounds than my own. Either learning about their culture, or any unique skills they have that are different from mine.

  • Centres d’intérêt

    Sports d'aventure
    Sports nautiques
    Sports d'équipe
    Yoga / bien-être
    Dev. durable
    Événements/vie sociale
  • Compétences et connaissances que j'aimerais partager ou apprendre

    Ça m'intéresse :  

    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    S’occuper des animaux
    Accueil / tourisme
    Travail associatif

    J'ai des connaissances :  

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Aider dans une ferme
    Aider à la maison
    Pratique des langues

    Je peux apprendre aux autres :  

    Aide informatique / Internet
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    1. Engineering: I have a background (BS degree) in Electrical engineering and 4 years of work experience for a company in the US. In addition to the engineering side of my job, I’ve also had to do a lot of electrical panel wiring and troubleshooting, which has made me good at working with my hands, often in cramped spaces, and using hand tools.

    2. Teaching: My electrical engineering role also involved instruction, both informally teaching customers as we worked together and the instruction of formal classes of 10-15 adults. I also completed the 120-hour TEFL (Teach English as a Foreign Language) certification. Since I began backpacking in October of 2020, I have volunteered in 3 Workaway programs that involved teaching English, for a total of around 7 months of experience teaching English to children and adults.

    3. Physically capable: I am as fit as any backpacker, so I can (and would like to) help out with physical labor. Be it farming, construction, home improvement, I can probably handle it, with the exception of heavy lifting. I have now volunteered at 2 farmstay Workaway projects, one primarily involving outdoor gardening/land maintenance and the other taking care of animals.

    4. Language: Fluent English and Spanish

    5. Collaboration: I am a great team player, I can get along with and work with just about anyone. My role as an engineer was customer-facing, so I have experience in treating customers with professionalism and kindness.

    6. Hospitality: I spent 5 weeks in Costa Rica working at the reception desk of a hotel, and waitressing for breakfast and dinner in the hotel's restaurant. Additionally I am currently assisting in the office of a kite school, greeting potential students and renters, and explaining how the school and spot works, answering any questions they have, etc.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant

    Plus de détails sur les langues qui m'intéressent
    Interested in learning Portuguese. I can teach English and Spanish.

    Trouver un partenaire de langue

  • Âge


  • Autres infos...

    I love animals- my family has had both dogs and cats growing up, so I would be happy to live somewhere surrounded by them. I have ridden horses on and off my whole life, just once a year or so for fun, and am now interested in gaining more experience with them.

    My favorite board games: Settlers of Catan, Hearts, Codenames, Dominion

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies

    • Régime alimentaire spécial