Bethany

Origine: Royaume-Uni

  • ...

    Type de compte

    Compte individuel

  • ...

    Destinations

    Australie

  • ...

    Dates de voyage

    01.10.2018 - 06.08.2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    I am from the UK but since I was 19 I have been travelling a lot. I have lived/worked/studied/volunteered in: USA (6 months), Ethiopia (2 months), Nigeria (3 months), Germany (1 year), Italy (3 months), and China (1+ year). I moved to Australia with my girlfriend in Oct 2018.

    My biggest hobby is probably travelling, at least that's what all my money goes towards! My undergraduate degree is in Greco-Roman history, and I am a big book nerd (I tend to read mostly non-fiction, especially travel literature).
    I'm not a fussy person and don't mind hodge-podge living or eating arrangements. I'm easy going and happy to fit around whatever arrangements you have.

  • Type d'aide

    Jardinage
    Baby-sitting / garde d’enfant
    Cuisine / courses
    Aide à la ferme
    Eco-volontariat
    Aide à la maison
    Aide avec les animaux
    Tourisme
    Travail associatif
    Aide avec les langues
    Enseignement

  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    I have had a great time working at previous workaways, which were mostly on farms. Various farm-work has included looking after chickens, rabbits, sheep, and 200 pigs; lots of weeding; mucking out stables; planting and cultivating saplings; harvesting and prepping large amounts of walnuts and olives. The longest term workaway I have done was 1 month on a Mangalitza pig farm in Austria. I'm not super strong or fit, but I am willing to give a hand to anything and put in long hours. I can follow instructions perfectly and am happy to work on my own all day.

    I have twice worked with local charities, once in Ethiopia, once in Nigeria. In Nigeria I was working with a local farmer's NGO to increase sustainability and profits in the rural area that was predominately cocoa farms. In Ethiopia I worked with an education charity to help improve the students' English over their summer holidays. I taught classes of 1-12 pupils of all levels, from beginners to advanced.

    I love kids, especially babies - 4 year olds. The younger and cuter the better! I have lot of experience working with kids from 0 months and up. I've worked in China for over a year as an English teacher, specialising in younger learners (ages 3-6). Some of my other experience includes babysitting, being a leader for Girl Guides aged 7-10, and on Guide Camp for guides aged 10-14. While in Ethiopia I helped run a home for, and taught, 70 children aged 12-18. My niece was born at the end of 2015 and I have spent a lot of time with her, including baby sitting her for whole days and nights from when she was a very young age.

    I've had my fair share of customer service jobs. After uni I spontaneously moved to Germany and ended up working in a large backpacker's hostel for a year (the best shift was the weekly bar crawl :D). I've also worked in shops, restaurants, and in telephone-based jobs.

    I am mildly musical - as a teenager I played the piano, clarinet, and saxophone, and went on a couple nerdy band tours around Europe. It's been a while since I played though, and please don't ask me to sing.

    I've been learning Mandarin since I lived in China (about 1.5 years now). I'm not very good yet but it's the first foreign language I've ever learnt so I'm very enthusiastic about it! The history and formation of characters is really cool and I'd be very happy to teach you a little about Chinese and my experience of life in contemporary China.

  • Langues parlées

    English, a teeny tiny bit of Mandarin

  • Âge

    27

  • Nationalité

    British

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies

    • Régime alimentaire spécial

Photos

Feedback