Amy

  • Royaume-Uni
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (1)

Good Workawayer

Information du profil

  • Information de voyage

    Actuellement, je suis

    en voyage

  • Description

    I am a positive, extroverted person who lives to experience new things. Meeting new people and forming new connections is probably the thing which brings me most joy in life. This is why I travel solo, as I love that you have no comfortable option - you are forced to make yourself meet new people every day, even when it is not always easy to do so! I have spent over a year of my life so far solo traveling, and the variety of experiences I have had, places I have seen and people I have met is something which excites me to a huge degree.

    I used to be a corporate lawyer - something which, every time I tell someone new, never fails to surprise - which is the exact reason why I stopped doing this fairly quickly, as it does not suit my character at all! Having said this, I do have a nerdy side, and every time I go to a new country, historical sites are some of my absolute favourite places to visit. I have been traveling Mexico and Guatemala since October 2021, and the Mayan history of these areas has been mind blowing.

    Since quitting my law career in early 2020, my intention was to travel the Americas indefinitely - covid soon put a stop to this. After a few months living back with my parents in the UK, I moved to South Korea for 1 year as an English teacher. Since then I have finally been able to restart my trip, which has been wonderful. I have spent most of the last 7 months moving around, and would love to start staying places for longer periods of time, so that I can start to become more involved in different communitites, cultures and projects.

  • Centres d’intérêt

    Plage
    Camping
    Voile / bateau
    Fitness
    Bénévolat
    Dev. durable
    Langues
    Livres
    Cuisine et alimentation
    Végétarien ou végan
    Histoire
    Événements/vie sociale
  • Compétences et connaissances que j'aimerais partager ou apprendre

    Ça m'intéresse :  

    Éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux

    J'ai des connaissances :  

    Travail associatif
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Aider à la maison
    Accueil / tourisme

    Je peux apprendre aux autres :  

    Pratique des langues
    Enseignement
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    I have a real range of work experience; from corporate work, to teaching, to hospitality. I worked for 3.5 years as a corporate lawyer, so I have experience of very intense workdays, requiring lots of time management, great writing and communication skills, organisation and research. As an English language teacher in South Korea for 1 year I have experience with children (I taught an age range between 8 and 15 years old), preparing classes and playing games, communicating with and teaching a range of English language levels, and generally being a positive and playful presence for the children. I have hospitality experience from university summers working as event staff, working as bar staff or a waitress as required by the event.
    I have volunteered in different types of organisation as well. I have helped children with reading, as part of a volunteering scheme reading with children who are struggling with this skill. I volunteered with an organisation through covid lockdown in the UK to help elderly people feel less isolated, by calling and befriending a few local elderly people. At university I was secretary of the university charity society, taking a leading role in organising fundraising events. I also love to host and organise events at home for friends and family, as I love both organising, and being sociable.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire

    Plus de détails sur les langues qui m'intéressent
    I started to learn Spanish when I started to travel Central America in early 2020. During lockdown in the UK I continued to have lessons for 3 months with my Guatemalan teacher, and really solidified my skills to an intermediate level during this time. My goal is to get my Spanish level as good as possible through more immersion in Spanish speaking experiences.

    Trouver un partenaire de langue

  • Âge

    29

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies

    • Régime alimentaire spécial
      Vegetarian

Feedback

Amis

Feedback