Will & Ryan

  • Pays-Bas & Royaume-Uni
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (3)

Facebook verified
Good Workawayer
Explorer

Amis (1)

Information du profil

  • Information de voyage

    Actuellement, nous sommes

    en voyage

    Notre prochaine destination :

    United Kingdom - du Mar 2022 au Sep 2022
    Voir tout
  • Description

    Hello there! This is Will and Ryan, we're two folks trying to live a mindful, compassionate life connecting with nature and community.

    Will
    Will is loving the life of a travelling volunteer / roaming artist. She is interested in permaculture and sustainable living, minimalism and mindful movement / working / living.
    Always keen to learn, she loves the chance to gain new skills and respectfully offer what she has already learnt.
    She loves looking after plants and animals (and people, when they need it), making things out of wood and other materials (furniture, fencing, structures) and clothes, drawing and journaling.

    Ryan
    Given the chance Ryan would probably spend most of his time outside. He loves physical work and is interested in learning more about sustainable community living and more chances to grow food, feed chickens and make stuff out of the natural materials all around. He loves being an active part of a community and jumps at the chance to offer a nice meal to everyone.
    Mindfulness and engaged Buddhism are strong factors in his life, trying to bring a bit more peace and joy to the world.
    Wood carving, basketry and making music on things with strings are but a few of his interests.

    Our Values
    We truly believe we have a duty to preserve the earth and other species, and have been involved with some peaceful protests as well as working to shrink our own footprint and exploring alternative, less wasteful ways of living and travelling, which is part of what led us to Workaway.
    Our practice of Engaged Buddhism is a big part of our motivation, plus we're both involved with setting up a practice centre/eco village in the UK (location to be decided) and we hope to find inspiration and learn ways it could turn out and relevant skills.

    Our Experience
    We are learning more and more as we go. We have experience with looking after chickens and ducks, sheep and goats, dogs, cats, and horses.
    We can build durable fences for birds and horses, sew, plant out and weed vegetables, turn or open the earth, construct beds and help with harvests of beans, carrots, potatoes, cabbage and more. We have worked on permaculture and no-dig projects and are growing our knowledge in that field.
    Will has also done some drawing workshops and art tutoring with kids, and enjoys sharing her knowledge with people of all ages. Ryan has worked for Bristol City Farm and helped run a co-operative community kitchen. He is happy to cook for medium to large groups.

  • Centres d’intérêt

    Nature
    Auto-stop
    Yoga / bien-être
    Cyclisme
    Danse
    Activités en plein air
    Randonnée
    Bénévolat
    Ferme
    Jardinage
    Menuiserie
    Dev. durable
    Animaux
    Animaux de compagnie
    Langues
    Architecture
    Dessin et peinture
    Bricolage / artisanat
    Écriture
    Livres

    montrer plus
  • Compétences et connaissances que nous aimerions partager ou apprendre

    Ça nous intéresse :  

    Tenir compagnie à une pers. âgée
    Éco-projets
    Travail associatif
    Enseignement

    Nous avons des connaissances :  

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Entretien général
    Aider dans une ferme
    Aider à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Pratique des langues

    Nous pouvons apprendre aux autres:  

    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Projets artistiques
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    Thanks to a couple of varied lives and our continuin travels we've gained quite a few good skills for living off the land and in sustainable communities!

    We've looked after friends' smallholdings, we've been involved with urban gardening projects, helped with permaculture projects, looked after animals (Ryan even worked on the Bristol City Farm for a while) and much more that you can talk to us about. All that said one of the main things we offer is a want to connect, learn, get stuck in and get muddy!

    We've a love for making things out of natural everyday materials, from turning a bunch of brambles into a lovely basket to carving something out of that bit of waste wood you've got lying around or turning an old sheet into a practical shopping bag. These are some of the sorts of things we're passionate about and maybe we can teach a few things (you'll at least probably end up with something we make!)

    We've both some skills in making and building, we've built animal enclosures, done a lot of fencing and even helped build someone's hous! Painting and decorating, basic carpentry (we both made our own beds!) and the like.

    We like to try and bring mindfulness into our everyday lives and come at things with a spirit of community and compassion so we hope that wherever we stay and whoever with, we will learn, teach and make good connections. We aren't full mindfulness teachers, but we would be happy to share our practice and meditate together if you are interested in that.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Hollandais: Courant
    Français: Débutant

    Plus de détails sur les langues qui m'intéressent
    Ryan - I can happily help you with your English and am currently trying to get my (very) rusty french to a much better level! Will - Fluent in both Dutch and English I can help you with either, having some experience of teaching languages. Also if I can get help with my French that would be great!

    Trouver un partenaire de langue

  • Âge

    42 & 31

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies

    • Régime alimentaire spécial
      Vegan/Vegetarian

Feedback



Amis

Photos

Feedback