Victoria & Glen

  • Royaume-Uni
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (3)

Good Workawayer
Facebook verified

Information du profil

  • Notre statut

    en voyage

  • Description

    We are Glen, Victoria, Ernest and Winston.

    We're a family with two young children, Ernest is 3 years and Winston was born in March this year. As a couple we love travelling the world, and in the past our main focus for working was geared towards saving for our upcoming trips away.
    When Ernie was born, during Tory's maternity leave we took him backpacking to SouthEast Asia and Central America for his first year - this was a very rewarding experience, not least because we got to spend a year together as a family. We had hoped to do the same with Winnie this time, but the Covid pandemic has encouraged us to look for places closer to home to explore and spend time together. We hope to learn new skills whilst helping out where we can and, of course, to make some good friendships along the way.

    We're ideally looking for a variety of placements, we are particularly interested in gardening, DIY, childcare, companionship, general maintenance, animal care, scuba related work.

    About Glen
    I enjoy:
    Hiking, reading, climbing, Scuba diving, playing/watching sports, meeting new people, learning about nature and ecology.

    Useful skills & experience:
    > Scuba diving - Certified PADI Divemaster, would love to be involved in anything to do with diving or marine life in general.
    > Childcare - I enjoy entertaining my children and young nieces and nephews, I have a tendency to silly things that they enjoy.
    > Lifting and labouring - I am happy to do manual labour tasks.
    > Accounting and Finance - I have some experience in an accounting role and would be happy to help in this area if needed.
    > DIY - I have experience decorating and fixing broken things around our flat but I'm definitely looking to develop these skills further.
    > Animal Care - I love animals and play well with dogs and playful cats. I have more experience spotting wild animals than caring for domesticated ones but domesticated animals are cool too.

    About Victoria
    I enjoy:
    Reading, Sewing, Cooking (as well as teaching Ernie how to), DIY, Boardgames, Jigsaws, Talking to new people, Researching travel destinations, Scuba Diving, Photography, Hiking and generally being outdoors exploring.

    Useful Skills & Experience:
    > DIY - I enjoy painting and decorating, tiling, building furniture etc... I'm certainly no professional but I'm a keen amateur!
    > Scuba diving - Certified PADI Divemaster ready to gain more experience in different areas of the business or just diving!
    > Teaching English - I have a TEFL qualification and although I haven't done any paid teaching since then, but I'd be happy to help with language practice.
    > Childcare - Through personal experience of raising our boys as well as plenty of babysitting. I'd love to help a family with other children that would enjoy the friendship of our two.
    > Carework - I was a careworker for elderly clients living in their own home which I absolutely loved - the best thing about this role was simply sitting down and talking with my clients and hearing the stories of their lives.
    > Homehelp - I love being in the kitchen both cooking and baking! We mostly eat vegetarian food at home, but I'm ok cooking meat if this is required.
    > Animal Care - I grew up in the countryside and as a family we mainly had dogs, cats and horses. I'd happily take care of smaller animals, and I'd enjoy learning how to look after any other larger farm animals with guidance from a pro!


    The boys:
    Ernie is a very happy and outgoing little boy, though he is often shy when meeting new people (not helped by covid restricting interactions) he will quickly open up and become his playful self! He loves to run around with other children, no matter their age, and always tries to make new friends wherever we go. We've always encouraged him to explore the outdoors; we'll look for insects, pretend to be different animals, make arty things with leaves, twigs etc... and generally just be out in nature. We love to watch nature shows with him and he's really keen to learn about animals. We read a tonne of books with him and we'll often find him reading (more like reciting) to himself in the day.

    Winnie - he's a spritely newborn - he sleeps a lot and has so far been a very content baby (touch wood)! He's fitting so well into the little brother role and Ernie's hoping he'll enjoy the outdoors as much as he does!

    As a family, we have aspirations of owning a property somewhere nice and living self sufficiently - this would included growing & rearing our own food, producing our own electricity and bringing our children up to appreciate the simple pleasures in life! We hope that our experiences through workaway this year will give us the opportunity to learn some skills and acquire knowledge from those who have done anything like this before us!

  • Centres d’intérêt

    Montagne
    Plage
    Nature
    Camping
    Sports d'aventure
    Sports nautiques
    Yoga / bien-être
    Cyclisme
    Activités en plein air
    Randonnée
    Vie en van
    Bénévolat
    Jardinage
    Dev. durable
    Animaux
    Animaux de compagnie
    Langues
    Dessin et peinture
    Bricolage / artisanat
    Livres

    montrer plus
  • Compétences et connaissances que nous aimerions partager ou apprendre

    Ça nous intéresse :  

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Aider dans une ferme
    Éco-projets
    S’occuper des animaux
    Travail associatif

    Nous avons des connaissances :  

    Jardinage
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Tenir compagnie à une pers. âgée
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Aider à la maison
    Enseignement

    Nous pouvons apprendre aux autres:  

    Accueil / tourisme
    Pratique des langues
    Aide informatique / Internet
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    Customer Service, English Teaching, cooking, housework, bar tending, reception work, rescue diver, general labouring...

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Espagnol: Débutant

    Plus de détails sur les langues qui m'intéressent
    Ce workawayer a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa ou ses propre(s) langue(s) ou en apprendre une nouvelle. Veuillez le contacter directement pour en discuter.

    Trouver un partenaire de langue

  • Âge

    31 & 29

  • Nationalité

    British

  • Autres infos...

    Adaptable and flexible.

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies
      No

    • Régime alimentaire spécial
      No

Feedback

Amis

Photos

Feedback