Makana & Gregory

Origine: États-Unis

  • ...

    Type de compte

    Compte duo

  • ...

    Destinations

    Allemagne, Canada, Danemark, Espagne, Irlande, Mexique, Royaume-Uni, États-Unis

  • ...

    Dates de voyage

    01.01.2018 - 01.01.2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Super Workawayer

  • Notre statut

    en voyage

  • Description

    *️️️️️Update August 2018: Hey! for the last six months we have been living in San Luis Obispo on California's Central coast. We both got jobs in industries of interest for us: Makana dipped her toes into hands-on work with herbal medicine and Greg even accomplished a dream of his having the opportunity to teach music professionally. We've had a wonderful time exploring the beautiful landscape of the area and are thankful for the community we've been able to build here even after such a short time. To quote John Steinbeck "A journey is a person in itself; no two are alike. And all plans, safeguards, policing, and coercion are fruitless. We find after years of struggle that we do not take a trip; a trip takes us." And we feel ourselves taken once again... This time we are keen on heading up through Northern California and the Pacific Northwest, ready and willing to put in hard work and hopefully hone some skills and add a few laughs to your day along the way!

    Hello! We are a young couple residing in Providence, Rhode Island in the Northeastern US. We love being outdoors, going on adventures, cooking amazing food, drinking good beer, laughing, playing music, and meeting new people. We're into roadtripping and have made our way across the US three times in the last three years. We're getting stir crazy in Rhode Island and are ready to take our next steps in a new direction.

    A little about us both:
    Gregory is a young professional with an affinity for playing the guitar. He has lived in Rhode Island all of his life, growing up in Newport. He loves having the opportunity to jam with others and rejoices in the collaborative exchange of ideas that comes with group-oriented projects. He is always looking to learn new skills and will put in 100% of his effort no matter the task.
    Makana finished her undergrad studies at Brown University in December (studied Anthropology and Visual Art). Originally from Hawaii, she grew up with a deep connection to the outdoors, which instilled in her a desire to get out and work the land. She is a team player, loves working with people, and enjoys exploring artistic media including printmaking, collage, and sculpture. She loves working with her hands and is always ready to pick up a new skill.

    We've done 7 workaways in the US and Canada and are stoked to be back on the road! We'd love to become a part of your community. Thanks for considering us :)

  • Compétences et connaissances que nous aimerions partager ou apprendre

    Ça nous intéresse :  

    Pratique des langues

    Nous avons des connaissances :  

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Tenir compagnie à une personne âgée
    Entretien général
    Aider dans une ferme
    Éco-projets
    S’occuper des animaux

    Nous pouvons apprendre aux autres:  

    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Aider à la maison
    Accueil / tourisme
    Travail associatif
    Projets artistiques
    Aide informatique / Internet
    Enseignement
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    Makana's professional background has spanned a wide variety of customer-facing positions including working as an outreach coordinator for a children's museum, administrating a youth employment program, and handling event coordination and sales for independent companies.

    Gregory's background has been primarily in the restaurant industry, he's worked as a dishwasher, prep cook, and line cook and definitely knows his way around a fast-paced professional kitchen. His most recent position, which he's found most fulfilling and in line with his personal interests, has been as a music instructor (guitar, bass, ukulele) with a local organization in California.

    We both have strong work ethics and are extremely industrious, no matter how tedious the task. We have considerable planting and gardening experience, cooking skills, experience engaging with and instructing youth (age range 4-18), playing/teaching guitar (Gregory), customer service skills, housekeeping/maintenance experience, creative sparks, and good senses of humor!

    Some of our past workaway experiences have included installing laminate flooring in a 5-bedroom house (which we learned completely on the job), conceptualizing and executing an art wall out of found and repurposed materials, and tending to a bevy of animals on a certified organic dairy farm.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Italien: Débutant

  • Âge

    25 & 27

  • Nationalité

    American

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies

    • Régime alimentaire spécial

Photos

Feedback