Thomas

Origine: Nouvelle-Zélande

  • ...

    Type de compte

    Compte individuel

  • ...

    Destinations

    Nouvelle-Zélande

  • ...

    Dates de voyage

    29.11.2018 - 23.12.2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    980

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Mon statut

    à la maison

  • Description

    Kia Ora,

    My name is Thomas Gilchrist and I am 31 years old. I was born in Ōtautahi Christchurch and lived there until I was 23. I completed a carpentry apprenticeship right out of high school, and from this point on, my job as a builder/carpenter took me to places and opened doors to worlds that I never knew existed. I was passionate, skilled, motivated, and hungry for new cultural experiences. Between 2013 and 2019, I visited over 30 countries and was blessed to have lived in some incredible places. I was based in London 2014/15, lived in Auckland 2016 (where I started my own bespoke carpentry business renovating period homes in Central AKL), lived in an amazing co-working space in Berlin 2017/18 as an in-house interior designer/furniture designer/builder, and enjoyed several trips in Asia whilst travelling from the Northern Hemisphere to Aotearoa most years. I have volunteered through Workaway in Germany, Montenegro, Croatia and Sri Lanka, and have been deeply enriched because of these experiences. One major highlight was living for 2 weeks at a Buddhist temple in the mountains of Candy, Sri Lanka with a group of monks. I went to help with the construction of the temple, and also to meditate and further my knowledge in the tradition, but, as it turned out, they were more interested in simply spending quiet time with me. It was beautiful.

    I returned to live in Aotearoa in early 2019, and since then, I have been focussing much of my time and attention on personal and spiritual growth. I had a spiritual awakening in 2016 when I attended a Vipassana meditation retreat in Kaukapakapa, and ever since then, I have moved through life with an awareness that has grown each day and has assisted me in my own journey into the world of inner work. I have grown out of the old mask of "builder Tom", and am currently taking time to develop new skills in order to change my line of work. I am moved and drawn toward working with people, as I have been most of my life, and I foresee a time when I would like to be facilitating men's work through retreats and workshops. I began studying to be a Counsellor in mid-2020, but I pulled out of the course when I realised the limitations of the western medical approach to mental health. I felt trapped by the conventional methods and decided to return out into the world again to continue doing my own work. I have a dream to take people into the forest for guided forest bathing experiences that incorporate meditation and mindfulness training. I love trees, and I love the forests, and I believe they will play a big role in healing the future. I also love to dance, and to sing, and I also love music! I play the djembe drum and can strum a few guitar chords here and there too.

    I enjoy work in the outdoors and in the garden. I have a bit of experience in tree pruning, and love to do firewood! I will lend a hand to virtually anything, and I'll do it with a smile on my face.

    I LOVE FOOD and COOKING!! So I am more than happy to help out in this way when I can.

    I have been living in Mohua (Golden Bay) for the last 6 months, and I have loved being a part of such a warm community there. I am currently up in the Auckland region with my backpack, and I am ready to explore whatever the universe brings my way.

  • Compétences et connaissances que j'aimerais partager ou apprendre

    J'ai des connaissances :  

    Jardinage
    Tenir compagnie à une personne âgée
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille

    Je peux apprendre aux autres :  

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Éco-projets
    Projets artistiques
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    I am a qualified carpentry professional with over 12 years of experience in the building industry. I have worked on a vast range of different projects in several parts of the world, from building and managing the construction of architecturally designed houses to constructing film sets, music festivals, art installations, kitchens, bathrooms, outdoor living spaces including decks, pergolas, planter boxes etc and almost anything else in between. I also have a basic knowledge of electrical & plumbing. I work with metal and am fairly handy with a welder too. I have experience in landscape gardening, fencing, concrete and masonry work. In 2016 I started my own carpentry business in Auckland, N.Z. I specialised in bespoke renovations of old houses from the time period of the 1880s-1960s. This involved traditional carpentry skills and working with detailed timber work. Outside of this, I love to work with people and am generally interested in all things creative.

    Hmm, what else... I'm a very good listener and problem solver. I really love to discuss new ideas and possibilities - to see visualisation develop into reality. To finish, I guess it's up for debate whether this is a skill or not (I think it is) is my ability to be on my own. To be self-sufficient and to be content with solitude when necessary. Don't get me wrong, I love to talk too, I just know when it's quiet time.

    Also:

    - Guiding meditation and mental health support work.
    - Facilitating dance
    - Cooking
    - Gardening
    - Child Care

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Âge

    31

  • Nationalité

    New Zealand

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies
      No

    • Régime alimentaire spécial

Photos

Feedback