Emma

Origine: Royaume-Uni

  • ...

    Type de compte

    Compte individuel

  • ...

    Destinations

    Canada

  • ...

    Dates de voyage

    13.10.2015 - 24.09.2020

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Super Workawayer

  • Mon statut

    en voyage

  • Description

    Hello! my name is Emma and I'm a happy, healthy 26 year old from Birmingham, England.

    Despite past academic achievement (including mensa membership) and a push towards a "real" career I have discovered that what actually makes me happy is travelling- meeting people, seeing new places, interesting conversations and helping in things that make a real difference. This could be ensuring someone has a good holiday, learning a new skill or looking after animals (I have a real soft spot for animals...)

    I don't believe in having a free ride. I have worked every time I have done any extended travelling and truly believe that it is the best way to really get to know a country and culture and its also the best way to make friends. I have done workaways with variant time lengths and really enjoy staying somewhere for a few months, as this is when you can really get a 'feel' for a place, become comfortable in work/volunteer duties) and make friendships.

    I have been exposed to working with customers from a wide variety of cultures in international settings, particularly in a hospitality and service role. I love working directly with people and am very open minded when it comes to different ways of living, religion and culture.

    On my last workaway experience in Norway I became accustomed to living and working in extreme cold (-30 c) and came to actually love it! I enhanced my skills with animals by learning skills related to mushing including running a small team. As with 2 of my other positions, this workaway was incredibly remote and I enjoyed the simple experiences of hiking, snow activities and reading. Even though I am from a city and do enjoy being sociable, I am also very easily able to be contented with a quieter pace of life.

    Workaway experience :
    All rounder in Guesthouse in a remote region in Norway (housekeeping, checking in and out, food preparation, reception duties, general maintenance like snow shovelling, assisting with dog sled tours, guest service) (3.5 months)
    Farming in Iceland (1 week)
    Dog sitting in Norway (3 weeks)
    Hostelwork in Japan (account deactivated before I could leave a review, but I had a wonderful time in the 2 months that I was there) (2 months)

    Previous work experience includes:
    Sales work in London, UK
    Cultural Representative/ Server in Walt Disney World Florida, USA
    English Teacher in Vietnam

    University Bachelors in English Literature

    I believe adaptability is the key to enjoying a varied life, and relish new opportunities.
    My hope is to learn from every workaway experience i take part of and become a true global citizen. I am a fast and willing learner and always up to try something new. If you choose to host me I promise to work hard and hope to become great friends :)

  • Compétences et connaissances que j'aimerais partager ou apprendre

    Jardinage
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Aider dans une ferme
    Éco-projets
    Aider à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Accueil / tourisme
    Travail associatif
    Pratique des langues
    Projets artistiques
    Aide informatique / Internet
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    Administrative and organisational skills
    Cleaning and Hospitality skills
    Guest/ Customer Service Skills
    Quick Learner
    Great with Pets
    Limited experience in farming experience, but loved it when I did it
    Cultural Exchange
    I hope to add to these throughout my journey

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant
    Russian: Débutant

  • Âge

    28

  • Nationalité

    British English

  • Autres infos...

    if you require a skill that I don't have (ie permaculture, carpentry skills) please be aware I am very much looking to learn if you are willing to teach and I will help out anyway i can in return.

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies
      No

    • Régime alimentaire spécial
      None

Photos

On a trip to Stonehenge- I love travel and tourism even in my own country!
A trip to Gulfoss whilst volunteering on a farm in Iceland
Me and Blondie on a mountain hike whilst Dogsitting in Norway

Feedback